Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > Redcat Racing Support
Reload this Page >

Im a noob and i need help with my volcano epx

Community
Search
Notices
Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Im a noob and i need help with my volcano epx

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2011, 10:39 AM
sledneck_51

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Im a noob and i need help with my volcano epx

Hey guys im new to rc in general and new to this thread so im hoping to find a few answers. I have a 1/10 scale redcat volcano epx all stock. I didnt like how slow and weak it was so i bought a few aftermarket parts. So question number one is did i ge compatable parts and two are there any advice or tips y'all can lay on me before i start tearing things apart? I bought a hobbywing 5.5t@6000 kv brushless motor with 60a esc and two lipo 2 cell batteries. Thanks for the help!

Old 12-06-2011, 11:20 AM
nitrosportsandrunner

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default RE: Im a noob and i need help with my volcano epx

that system with a 2s lipo will be WAY faster than the stock brushed system.

the volcano epx, and epx pro(brushless version) only really differ in the motor/esc and radio that they come with. in other words, the chassis is basically identical.

but there are a couple things you can do.

the dogbones have a fair amount of play, and this causes wear.

you can use tiny pieces of nitro fuel tubing inside the drive cups(what the dogbones go into) to cushion the dogbones while still allowing them to move alittle(as they need to move some as the suspension moves)

also, you hopefully bought the ezrun system with a program card. this will allow you to set the "punch control". this will lower the "shock" to the drivetrain. this is good since the volcano doesnt have a slipper clutch.