Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Problem with Redcat Shockwave

Reply
Old 12-29-2011, 12:59 PM
  #1
Reuben-rc
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Denver, CO, AMERICAN SAMOA (USA)
Posts: 37
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Problem with Redcat Shockwave

The problem with my Redcat Shockwave is that when you try to prime it fuel doesnt go through the gas line cause there is no air pressure. Also I am kind of new to nitro rc cars but is there supposed to be nitro or some liquid everywere after you run it? I think it might be a leak in the gas tank that is causeing both. Please tell me anything you think that it might be. Thank You!
Reuben-rc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 01:04 PM
  #2
DKnox
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Mont Belvieu, TX
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Problem with Redcat Shockwave


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Reuben-rc

The problem with my Redcat Shockwave is that when you try to prime it fuel doesnt go through the gas line cause there is no air pressure. Also I am kind of new to nitro rc cars but is there supposed to be nitro or some liquid everywere after you run it? I think it might be a leak in the gas tank that is causeing both. Please tell me anything you think that it might be. Thank You!

My Avalance spilled fuel like that as well when I first got it. Found out Ihad over filled the tank and when I tried to prime the motor it was pushing a little out of the tank. Also remember that the Nitro car should be spitting some fuel out of the exhaust when it's running right.

I'm certainly not a pro by any means, just giving you my personal expiriences here lately. I'm sure one of the brains will give more insight if there's a bigger problem.
DKnox is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 05:53 PM
  #3
Dads like rc too
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: myrtle beach, SC
Posts: 754
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Problem with Redcat Shockwave

yeah I'd say if you have actual liquid fuel around the tank and you can't prime it either your tank has a split in it somewhere or your fuel cap is leaking which is causing it to blow fuel out when your attempting to prime or spilling fuel while running.
Dads like rc too is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 07:13 PM
  #4
runner1514
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Coral Springs, FL
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Problem with Redcat Shockwave

Are you placing your finger in the exhaust when you pull the starter? Also make sure the glow plug is tight (but don't kill it) lol. That might be causing the gas leak as well as the problem of not being able to prime the engine. A bit o fuel aroung the engine might be normal, specially if you over prime it and then you have to remove the excess fuel (you know, when the cord gets harder than normal) by removing the glow plug, turning the car upside down and pulling from the started a couple of times
runner1514 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 07:34 PM
  #5
codokas
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: , NY
Posts: 171
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Problem with Redcat Shockwave

Plug the end of the fuel line going to the carb and blow gently into the line that goes to the exhaust. If the fuel tank cap is good it should hold some pressure. If it leaks or the top pops up too easily, then the fuel tank is bad.Check your fuel lines for pin holes by taking each one off and submerging it in water, plug one end and blow in the other end and look for bubbles, flip it around and do the other end.

DOUG

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Reuben-rc

The problem with my Redcat Shockwave is that when you try to prime it fuel doesnt go through the gas line cause there is no air pressure. Also I am kind of new to nitro rc cars but is there supposed to be nitro or some liquid everywere after you run it? I think it might be a leak in the gas tank that is causeing both. Please tell me anything you think that it might be. Thank You!
codokas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:24 AM.