Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

caldera 10e esc

Reply
Old 01-29-2012, 05:55 PM
  #1
triumph 67
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: jacksonville, FL
Posts: 43
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default caldera 10e esc

do u still have to rewire the fan on the 60amp hobywing ezrun for 3s or do they have a 80amp that will fit ?
triumph 67 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 06:11 PM
  #2
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: caldera 10e esc

there is a 80a ezrun esc (used in the 8e's and the shredder models as well as the XTE's)
It can handle 4s lipo. The stock fan works on 3 or 4s.

The 60a fan I would think should be fine on 3s....but I dont know that for a fact. But you would think a 60a esc would be given a fan that could handle 3s.
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 06:14 PM
  #3
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: caldera 10e esc

there is a 80a ezrun esc (used in the 8e's and the shredder models as well as the XTE's)
It can handle 4s lipo. The stock fan works on 3 or 4s.

The 60a fan I would think should be fine on 3s....but I dont know that for a fact. But you would think a 60a esc would be given a fan that could handle 3s.
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 06:25 PM
  #4
triumph 67
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: jacksonville, FL
Posts: 43
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: caldera 10e esc

well theone i got used had a 25amp ezrun my new one has a 35amp ezrun the 25amp cought fire 2day on 2s sky lipo 5000 so i got a new 100amp from hobbyking awile back it fits in the front of the truck going to try it out on 3s this week after wiring it. but was thinking bigger ezrun for my new truck.

triumph 67 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 06:32 PM
  #5
triumph 67
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: jacksonville, FL
Posts: 43
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: caldera 10e esc

well iam trying a 100amp hk in the truck this week after mine cought fire 2day just wanted to no about a new hw for my new caldera. 2s sky lipo 5000 took out the stock one.
triumph 67 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 08:10 PM
  #6
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: caldera 10e esc


Quote:
ORIGINAL: triumph 67

well theone i got used had a 25amp ezrun my new one has a 35amp ezrun the 25amp cought fire 2day on 2s sky lipo 5000 so i got a new 100amp from hobbyking awile back it fits in the front of the truck going to try it out on 3s this week after wiring it. but was thinking bigger ezrun for my new truck.

Where in the world did you get a caldera with a 25 amp ESC???
The redcat's all have the 35amp ezrun ESC. 10 amps may not sound like a big difference but it is.
25amp ESC's are meant for 1/18 scale cars and trucks....not a 1/10 scale like the caldera. Its no wonder it cought fire!

A 100amp ESC is alittle overkill, but that never hurts! The ezrun 60 or 80 amp systems are good for the caldera. A traxxas VXL system would also work well (and be waterproof) Or also the novatech 70amp system will work (used to come in the epx pro models)
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 04:27 PM
  #7
triumph 67
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: jacksonville, FL
Posts: 43
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: caldera 10e esc

got the truck used for testing instead of messing my good one up it had the old plugs on it and changed it over to bannaha to match my other batterys. will give more info on the hk100a and 3s some time this week.





triumph 67 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:56 AM.