Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 8 of 8

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    , CT
    Posts
    3
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Earthquake 3.5 motor

    I have a earthquake 3.5 with a bad motor. Was wondering which motor I can replace it with without major work was thinking a sh.28 and ideas or help ??

  2. #2
    nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    skowhegan, ME
    Posts
    9,054
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Earthquake 3.5 motor


    ORIGINAL: Toby2500

    *I have a earthquake 3.5 with a bad motor. Was wondering which motor I can replace it with without major work was thinking a sh.28 and ideas or help ??
    why not just drop a new SH .21 in? The .21 has plenty of power IMO.
    SC10rs, 1/6 hummer crawler, Kyosho Twin Force, Lunchbox project, Techone P51,

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    , CT
    Posts
    3
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Earthquake 3.5 motor

    I just figured if I'm going to buy a new motor might as well try to go a little bigger and I always have to make sure I can beat the tmaxxes no problem. My buddy has got one I already beat him just figured why not go bigger it's better right

  4. #4
    nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    skowhegan, ME
    Posts
    9,054
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Earthquake 3.5 motor


    ORIGINAL: Toby2500

    I just figured if I'm going to buy a new motor might as well try to go a little bigger and I always have to make sure I can beat the tmaxxes no problem. My buddy has got one I already beat him just figured why not go bigger it's better right
    i see.

    well i think the .21 and .28 are both considered big blocks. I cant say how much it will take to make the .28 fit in the earthquake...but id bet it will take less work than any other upgrade.

    Of course, if you are worried about top speed...there is always alittle play with the gearing even on the stock .21 motor.

    drag racing nitros is cool...unlike electrics its more about setup. Your buddy can have an insane motor...but if he doesnt know how to tune it will it wont matter. Im assuming your buddy has a tmaxx or revo? Your earthquake is lighter to start with. less wieght means less power is needed.

    My buddy had a aftershock 3.5 and the speed blew me away. it could accelerate as fast as my brushless truck on 2s lipo...and had a higher top speed!
    SC10rs, 1/6 hummer crawler, Kyosho Twin Force, Lunchbox project, Techone P51,

  5. #5
    kchobbies's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    31
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Earthquake 3.5 motor

    he is completely correct no reason to switch to bigger motor but they are very easy to swap beacue yes the .21 and .28 are big blocks so the motor mounts swap right over but also gotta think going to bigger motor means faster fuel consumption i know my aftershock has the .28 in it currently for demos but i also have a sirio .21 race motor i run in it at the track beacue their is about a 40 dollar diff between the two and question how did your .21 blow?
    ORIGINAL: nitrosportsandrunner


    ORIGINAL: Toby2500

    I just figured if I'm going to buy a new motor might as well try to go a little bigger and I always have to make sure I can beat the tmaxxes no problem. My buddy has got one I already beat him just figured why not go bigger it's better right
    i see.

    well i think the .21 and .28 are both considered big blocks. I cant say how much it will take to make the .28 fit in the earthquake...but id bet it will take less work than any other upgrade.

    Of course, if you are worried about top speed...there is always alittle play with the gearing even on the stock .21 motor.

    drag racing nitros is cool...unlike electrics its more about setup. Your buddy can have an insane motor...but if he doesnt know how to tune it will it wont matter. Im assuming your buddy has a tmaxx or revo? Your earthquake is lighter to start with. less wieght means less power is needed.

    My buddy had a aftershock 3.5 and the speed blew me away. it could accelerate as fast as my brushless truck on 2s lipo...and had a higher top speed!
    www.kchobbie.com
    Authorized Redcat Racing, Align, Guai, MaxAmps, Hyperion, Exotek Racing, Hi-Tec, Team Trinity, CommonSenseRC

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    , CT
    Posts
    3
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Earthquake 3.5 motor

    Believe it was bad from redcat just got the truck a week ago and have had nothing but problems with it getting it to run . Gotta send the motor out to redcat to get the problem resolved just trying to put something else into the truck for now and I figured as long as I was doing that might as well try something bigger and maybe leave it that way and keep the .21 that redcat sends back to me as a spare. I don't know these are my ideas and help or insight is appreciated

  7. #7
    kchobbies's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    31
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Earthquake 3.5 motor

    no worries does your motor have compression and air leaks anywhere?? because they are known too have some occasional air leaks cause them to run for min or two then die out (not redcats fault though just part of a new car everything has its flaws part of mass production).... well feel free if ever have any questions to PM me been helping alot of the new members and what not and can even join us on facebook.com/kchobbie

    ORIGINAL: Toby2500

    Believe it was bad from redcat just got the truck a week ago and have had nothing but problems with it getting it to run . Gotta send the motor out to redcat to get the problem resolved just trying to put something else into the truck for now and I figured as long as I was doing that might as well try something bigger and maybe leave it that way and keep the .21 that redcat sends back to me as a spare. I don't know these are my ideas and help or insight is appreciated
    www.kchobbie.com
    Authorized Redcat Racing, Align, Guai, MaxAmps, Hyperion, Exotek Racing, Hi-Tec, Team Trinity, CommonSenseRC

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    myrtle beach, SC
    Posts
    753
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Earthquake 3.5 motor

    one thing I would consider is your drive train.  I don't have an Earthquake but have been looking them over.  I think the diffs are smaller and probably weaker than what is in my Monsoon XTR.  What I can tell you that is my Monsoon is a Torque monster.  I think if that engine were put into a drive train with weaker components you'll be replacing all of that too.  Just something to think about.
    SELLING MONSOON XTR WITH UPGRADED AND LOTS OF SPARE PARTS - PM FOR DETAILS
    Caldera 10e : Volcano EPX : Monsoon XTR : Sumo x2 :


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:54 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.