Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Earthquake 3.5 differntial

Reply
Old 07-03-2012, 10:15 AM
  #1
Shady9503
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: brampton, ON, CANADA
Posts: 143
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Earthquake 3.5 differntial

So i had an issue with my earthquake where after about 5 mins of run time, all the power would go to my front wheels, i thought my differntial was done considering i tore the care apart and couldnt find a loose screw anywhere (loctited everything when i got it) so i assumed something in the differential, i picked up a new diff from a local redcat dealer and when im putting the screws in i noticed that the second i tighten them around the diff case the differential stops spinning completely, lossen them and it spins fine, im confused because i dont wanna seal the differential and put it back together and when i go to run the truck see the rear wheels not spin and get stuck taking it apart again,
Shady9503 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:55 AM
  #2
Dads like rc too
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: myrtle beach, SC
Posts: 754
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Earthquake 3.5 differntial


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Shady9503

So i had an issue with my earthquake where after about 5 mins of run time, all the power would go to my front wheels, i thought my differntial was done considering i tore the care apart and couldnt find a loose screw anywhere (loctited everything when i got it) so i assumed something in the differential, i picked up a new diff from a local redcat dealer and when im putting the screws in i noticed that the second i tighten them around the diff case the differential stops spinning completely, lossen them and it spins fine, im confused because i dont wanna seal the differential and put it back together and when i go to run the truck see the rear wheels not spin and get stuck taking it apart again,
Did you make sure your installing the correct screw in the correct space. I'm not sure but I thought there are at least two different length screws. They're the same thread and pitch. It very easy to put the longer screws into the shorter holes. Doing this will certainly bind the diff.
Dads like rc too is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 09:26 AM
  #3
Shady9503
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: brampton, ON, CANADA
Posts: 143
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Earthquake 3.5 differntial

Yeah i took out the screws they are the same length and everything, once i tighten the screws even a little the diff binds and its confusing ive had my truck apart for a week now its frustrating lol
Shady9503 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 01:41 PM
  #4
kelynsdad1023
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Maywood, NJ
Posts: 122
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Earthquake 3.5 differntial

check to make sure there are no like no little nipples and what what not on the ring gear, I had them on a few diffs thatIbought for that truck. if there are it won't spin in right in the housing. Just grind it down a tad and it should work.
kelynsdad1023 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 07:04 PM
  #5
Shady9503
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: brampton, ON, CANADA
Posts: 143
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Earthquake 3.5 differntial

So i finally found my problem! after checking grub screws, drive shafts, differentials and everything i possibly could and not finding a problem i sat down and thought "things dont just not work like that. theres a reason somewhere." i took off the rims, and took off the rim hub, the inside of my rim hub was completely stripped out, so the pin that was there would just spin, without giving power at all, rendering the rear end powerless just thought id update incase someone runs into a similar situation!
Shady9503 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 05:44 AM
  #6
Valgath
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Parkersburg, WV
Posts: 118
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Earthquake 3.5 differntial

interesting ive never had any problems with my EQ 3.5 aside from driver errors or bashing to hard with things breaking . Iguess im one of the lucky ones .
Valgath is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 06:44 PM
  #7
Shady9503
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: brampton, ON, CANADA
Posts: 143
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Earthquake 3.5 differntial

Same here, its an amazing truck it holds its tune i put it through hell it only breaks when i screw up sometimes, like hitting a curb :P this one problem confused me though but finally figured it out and had some fun with it today
Shady9503 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:12 AM.