Notices
Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

You've got to be kidding me!!!

Old 01-02-2013, 01:20 PM
goodmanje

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default You've got to be kidding me!!!

My son got a Volcano EPX for Christmas. After charging the battery for 8 hours we took it outside to try it out. The thing ran for about 5-10 minutes.... Hmmm... Something must be wrong I thought. We checked everything charged it again and the same thing happened. It ran for about 5-10 minutes and thats it. Thinking the battery must be bad I called Redcat Racing to report the problem. The gentleman on the phone informed me that 10 minutes was about what you get from that battery. Huh???

I'm totally new to this hobby so I'll admit I know nothing about the equipment. I'm just wondering why anyone would want something that can only be used for 10 mninutes every 8 hours? That's ridiculous!!! I've read you can buy different batteries and maybe get 15 minutes out of it....... every 8 hours. Complete and total crap!

I'm done with this hobby. I could buy my son a really nice bow or high end pellet gun for that kind of money and they can use it all day long every day.

Just had to vent my frustration....

Old 01-02-2013, 01:55 PM
PetRock

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: You've got to be kidding me!!!

The stock trickle chargers are a cheap way to make the cars RTR... but... they're slow . Alternate chargers can fill that battery in 30-60 minutes or faster... and different batteries can triple your run time.

A budget multi-chemistry charger would be a good first upgrade, and then maybe get a second (higher capacity) battery down the road. Then your son could drive basically non-stop. But before investing any more money I'd live with the slow charge times for a few runs and see if he enjoys RC: no use spending more money if he may get more fun out of bow/pellet-gun.

Have fun!

Old 01-02-2013, 03:02 PM
nitrosportsandrunner