Notices
Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Question about Earthquake 8e

Old 01-06-2013, 08:40 PM
Ricks426

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question about Earthquake 8e

Im new to RC, just ordered and earhtquake 8E after much investigating and researching. I would like to know what is the biggest type of batteries i can get for the earthquake? Ones that give me the longest run time. And what is the best charger to get for lipos. Do I have to stick with the 2s batteries only, or can I go bigger?

thanks

Old 01-07-2013, 04:11 AM
nitrosportsandrunner

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default RE: Question about Earthquake 8e

you cant use lipos of higher voltage (ie, 3s)
but you can use 2s lipo packs with more MAH...which equals runtime.
A pair of 2s 5000mah lipos with at least 30c will work good.
I use a thunder AC6 charger. charges most types of batts and can charge my lipos in 1 hour.
Old 01-07-2013, 02:29 PM
Ricks426

That looks like a well rounded charger and great price.  Would these work for the earthquake?  

Redcat 5800 LIPO Battery - 7.4V 2S 30C Hard Case Banana 4.0 Connector  

and if I went with 3S  11.1 lipo, it wouldn't damage anything?  Would that charger (thunder ac6) have enough power to charge these batteries?
Old 01-07-2013, 02:32 PM
Ricks426

if I have to shim the diffs when i get this thing,  where do i find these shims?
Old 01-07-2013, 03:24 PM
nitrosportsandrunner

ORIGINAL: Ricks426

if I have to shim the diffs when i get this thing, where do i find these shims?
easiest way is to buy the shim kit # 81069
Its not specific to the 8e, but has all the shims you will need in the kit to properly set up your diffs.

You can either open up your diffs now and see how tight they are and add shims IF needed...
Or drive the truck and found if if they are shimmed well. My diffs lasted 10 packs before I had an issue. Others have had a diff fail in just a few packs.