Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

need help with ESC on earthquake

Reply
Old 01-12-2013, 12:46 PM
  #1
kiter73
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: sarasota , FL
Posts: 21
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default need help with ESC on earthquake

Hello!My son was playing with the earthquake for about 5 minutes and he came back it stopped.The esc seems to turn on but no fan spinning .Plugged un the programing card the 2 in one with display on it and nothing red light comes on for 8 sec and green flashes twice nad that is it.No voltage coming out on the connector what goes to the box.I have just plugged in to the pc with the card and i can change the settings.Please let me know what could be the problem.Thanks!!
kiter73 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 01:49 PM
  #2
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need help with ESC on earthquake


Quote:
ORIGINAL: kiter73

Hello!My son was playing with the earthquake for about 5 minutes and he came back it stopped.The esc seems to turn on but no fan spinning .Plugged un the programing card the 2 in one with display on it and nothing red light comes on for 8 sec and green flashes twice nad that is it.No voltage coming out on the connector what goes to the box.I have just plugged in to the pc with the card and i can change the settings.Please let me know what could be the problem.Thanks!!
with it all plugged in, do you still have steering?
The fact that the programing card will no longer function is not a good sign.
Is the reciever wire good, no damage/knicks or anything?
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 02:22 PM
  #3
kiter73
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: sarasota , FL
Posts: 21
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need help with ESC on earthquake

no steering no fans ,like i said no volt coming out of the wires ,i do not smell burn on esc .I turn on beeps 3 times with green flash and that is it .
kiter73 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 03:18 PM
  #4
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need help with ESC on earthquake


Quote:
ORIGINAL: kiter73

no steering no fans ,like i said no volt coming out of the wires ,i do not smell burn on esc .I turn on beeps 3 times with green flash and that is it .
turn it on, and see if the LED on the reciever is lit up.
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 06:58 PM
  #5
kiter73
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: sarasota , FL
Posts: 21
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need help with ESC on earthquake

no receiver light.
kiter73 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 10:54 AM
  #6
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need help with ESC on earthquake


Quote:
ORIGINAL: kiter73

no receiver light.
follow the binding process shown here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cXwhQ...layer_embedded
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 11:19 AM
  #7
kiter73
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: sarasota , FL
Posts: 21
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need help with ESC on earthquake

The fan is not runnig either on the esc.Checked the volt on the plug what goes in the receiver but 0 volt.
kiter73 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 01:14 PM
  #8
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need help with ESC on earthquake


Quote:
ORIGINAL: kiter73

The fan is not runnig either on the esc.Checked the volt on the plug what goes in the receiver but 0 volt.
I couldnt remember if that fan was on all the time, of if it only came on when needed.

did you try rebinding the radio to the reciever? It is probly the ESC, but rebinding will rule out the radio/rx for sure.
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 02:08 PM
  #9
kiter73
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: sarasota , FL
Posts: 21
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need help with ESC on earthquake

Esc suply the receiver with power.No power in that wire goes in receiver so can not bind.
kiter73 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 02:11 PM
  #10
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need help with ESC on earthquake


Quote:
ORIGINAL: kiter73

Esc suply the receiver with power.No power in that wire goes in receiver so can not bind.
I gotcha. I usually use a 2s lipo pack I have that has a rx plug on it.

I assume you have looked over the esc wire good? No visable damage to it that would prevent power to the rx?
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 03:01 PM
  #11
kiter73
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: sarasota , FL
Posts: 21
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need help with ESC on earthquake

have gone mad with it so i have soldered it apart and the heat damaged it,such a poor quality board they build these .Wonder how these esc can handle so much power with that cheap board they build it.Pc motherboards can handle more than this one .For the second try i burned the board.
kiter73 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 03:44 PM
  #12
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need help with ESC on earthquake

Ive never taken one apart, but plenty of people run these ESC's in 1/8 models on 4s. Some run them in trucks heavier than the earthquake.
I think its more of an issue of quality control.
LMK if you plan to replace the ESC, or if you wanna get rid of the truck.
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 04:00 PM
  #13
kiter73
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: sarasota , FL
Posts: 21
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need help with ESC on earthquake

Well, i need esc !
kiter73 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:13 PM.