Notices
Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Caldera 3.0 questions?

Old 01-22-2013, 01:58 PM
bbradUSMC

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Caldera 3.0 questions?

I just picked up the Caldera 3.0: http://www.redcatracing.com/Caldera3-0

I am looking to do some upgrades.

Already thinking about this lipo: http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...mpatible_.html

and this charger: http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...cessories.html

Would also like to upgrade to metal servos and either a larger gas tank or run a secondary tank. Suggestions would be great.

If there are other upgrades I should do please throw them out there.

EDIT: Do I need an adapter for the charger to go to a house outlet? Will it work with my car battery? What is the expected charge time and run time with this set up?

I know lots of questions. I'm a newb to this world. I grew up building Jeeps not RC cars haha.

Old 01-22-2013, 04:21 PM
Dads like rc too

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Caldera 3.0 questions?

ORIGINAL: bbradUSMC

Already thinking about this lipo: http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...mpatible_.html

Would also like to upgrade to metal servos and either a larger gas tank or run a secondary tank. Suggestions would be great.

EDIT: Do I need an adapter for the charger to go to a house outlet? Will it work with my car battery? What is the expected charge time and run time with this set up?

I know lots of questions. I'm a newb to this world. I grew up building Jeeps not RC cars haha.

I'm a little confused. You have a Caldera 3.0, Nitro right? What are the lipo's for? Yes you can put a bigger tank with some modification. Alloy steering knuckles are a must for the Caldera, leave everything else plastic. That charger needs a 12v power supply or a car battery for power.
Old 01-23-2013, 09:26 AM
bbradUSMC

ORIGINAL: Dads like rc too