Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

No Fire after installing Power Start

Reply
Old 03-10-2013, 03:55 PM
  #1
ArtAttackguy
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dundas, ON, CANADA
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default No Fire after installing Power Start

I have recently bought a Redcat Racing Earthquake ( Nitro )
I started my first tank of idling, got half the tank done then it quit, and so did my glow plug igniter...
That night i decided to take off the pull start and install the power starter i had bought ( redcat's power Starter ).
After I installed the power Starter, everything charged up and ready to go,,, Icould not get even a *bark * outta that engine.
I have tried everything, the motor won't fire, any help would be greatly appreciated,,, thanks !!
Iwas wondering if there is something to do with the backing plate, as far as compression go's for the motor or something ???
I also am not able to just crank down the 4 screws holding the backing plate ( power starter ) because the whole assembly binds and won't turn. So I have to back off on the four screws till it turns freely again

ArtAttackguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 04:54 PM
  #2
johnbwest
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: candler, NC
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: No Fire after installing Power Start

Hello Welcome to my club haha I have had almost the same issue with a Redcat Caldera 3.0 with the SH18 engine. Bought mine in November and still have had no playtime. Before the first tank was complete, broke the pullstart. Got a Redcat electric start off Ebay and installed the backing plate. Mine came with two and had to contact Redcat to determine which was proper one to use.If you had that choice, might want to confirm whether correct backing plate was used. The starter never would charge correctly for me and have now resulted to using a cordless drill to spin motor. Did get two tanks to run but mine would never start for the third tank. About ready to purchase new motor. Good luck
johnbwest is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 05:08 PM
  #3
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: No Fire after installing Power Start

glow plugs normally last many tanks, but this is not always the case during break-in.

If no "bark" the glow plug could be dead. Or you glow plug warmer isnt charged.

Or the engine got flooded.
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 12:11 AM
  #4
ArtAttackguy
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dundas, ON, CANADA
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: No Fire after installing Power Start

Thank you for the help

ArtAttackguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 12:13 AM
  #5
ArtAttackguy
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dundas, ON, CANADA
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: No Fire after installing Power Start

Thank you

ArtAttackguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 01:44 AM
  #6
ArtAttackguy
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dundas, ON, CANADA
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: No Fire after installing Power Start

Everything is fine now, I had the HSN needle set the wrong way, two turns in is Totally incorrect ! That blocked off fuel all together
Purring like a kitten now ! ( One full turn out ) ( Rich ) for break in ...
ArtAttackguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 01:48 AM
  #7
ArtAttackguy
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dundas, ON, CANADA
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: No Fire after installing Power Start

I would definately get a new battery for your Power Starter, charge that one up good. Make sure your needle setting is no more then 1 Full turn out ( 360 degrees from factory ) Factory = Top of Screw flush with housing , then turn NO more then one full turn counter-clockwise ( Rich ) . I hope that helps a little,, it really made my life a whole lot easier !! lol
ArtAttackguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:16 PM.