Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Dundas, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    5
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    No Fire after installing Power Start

    I have recently bought a Redcat Racing Earthquake ( Nitro )
    I started my first tank of idling, got half the tank done then it quit, and so did my glow plug igniter...
    That night i decided to take off the pull start and install the power starter i had bought ( redcat's power Starter ).
    After I installed the power Starter, everything charged up and ready to go,,, Icould not get even a *bark * outta that engine.
    I have tried everything, the motor won't fire, any help would be greatly appreciated,,, thanks !!
    Iwas wondering if there is something to do with the backing plate, as far as compression go's for the motor or something ???
    I also am not able to just crank down the 4 screws holding the backing plate ( power starter ) because the whole assembly binds and won't turn. So I have to back off on the four screws till it turns freely again


  2. #2

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    candler, NC
    Posts
    9
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: No Fire after installing Power Start

    Hello Welcome to my club haha I have had almost the same issue with a Redcat Caldera 3.0 with the SH18 engine. Bought mine in November and still have had no playtime. Before the first tank was complete, broke the pullstart. Got a Redcat electric start off Ebay and installed the backing plate. Mine came with two and had to contact Redcat to determine which was proper one to use.If you had that choice, might want to confirm whether correct backing plate was used. The starter never would charge correctly for me and have now resulted to using a cordless drill to spin motor. Did get two tanks to run but mine would never start for the third tank. About ready to purchase new motor. Good luck

  3. #3
    nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    skowhegan, ME
    Posts
    9,110
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: No Fire after installing Power Start

    glow plugs normally last many tanks, but this is not always the case during break-in.

    If no "bark" the glow plug could be dead. Or you glow plug warmer isnt charged.

    Or the engine got flooded.
    SC10rs, 1/6 hummer crawler, Kyosho Twin Force, Lunchbox project, Techone P51,

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Dundas, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    5
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: No Fire after installing Power Start

    Thank you for the help


  5. #5

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Dundas, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    5
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: No Fire after installing Power Start

    Thank you


  6. #6

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Dundas, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    5
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: No Fire after installing Power Start

    Everything is fine now, I had the HSN needle set the wrong way, two turns in is Totally incorrect ! That blocked off fuel all together
    Purring like a kitten now ! ( One full turn out ) ( Rich ) for break in ...

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Dundas, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    5
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: No Fire after installing Power Start

    I would definately get a new battery for your Power Starter, charge that one up good. Make sure your needle setting is no more then 1 Full turn out ( 360 degrees from factory ) Factory = Top of Screw flush with housing , then turn NO more then one full turn counter-clockwise ( Rich ) . I hope that helps a little,, it really made my life a whole lot easier !! lol


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:09 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.