Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 9 of 9

  1. #1

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    , CA
    Posts
    20
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    My caldera 10e top speed

    I've been having many problems with my caldera and I finally got the chance to get it running with no problems
    at the moment. I was able to GPS my rc using my iPhone. I've got a top speed of 48mph on a couple try's. I'm running 3a lipo with brushless hobbie 120a esc, tacon 9650 motor and 15t pinion gear. I'm still running the stock 508 program from the esc. I've been having problems not be able to connect to my laptop. Maybe if I can get it to reprogram and try other difference modes. I've try everything on the manual and can't get it to connect . I've even try and different laptop and still nothing. Anybody eles GPS their caldera?

  2. #2
    nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    skowhegan, ME
    Posts
    9,064
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: My caldera 10e top speed


    ORIGINAL: Eg-r

    *I've been having many problems with my caldera and I finally got the chance to get it running with no problems
    *at the moment. I was able to GPS my rc using my iPhone. I've got a top speed of 48mph on a couple try's. I'm running 3a lipo with brushless hobbie 120a esc, *tacon 9650 motor and 15t pinion gear. I'm still running the stock 508 program from the esc. I've been having problems not be able to connect to my laptop. Maybe if I can get it to reprogram and try other difference modes. I've try everything on the manual and can't get it to connect . I've even try and different laptop and still nothing. Anybody eles GPS their caldera?
    your speed is respectable.
    did you get a temp reading on the ESC/motor? I suspect you could gear it up some. as long as motor temps dont exceed 160.
    SC10rs, 1/6 hummer crawler, Kyosho Twin Force, Lunchbox project, Techone P51,

  3. #3

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    , CA
    Posts
    20
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: My caldera 10e top speed

    No, I don't have a temp gun to check. I was able to use the entire 3s battery and at that point I couldn't put my finger on the motor cause it was soo hot. I forgot to time how long the battery last, but maybe around 30-45min.  It's too tight on the esc so there no way I was able to touch that. What other type of gears can I do for upgrades?

  4. #4
    nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    skowhegan, ME
    Posts
    9,064
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: My caldera 10e top speed


    ORIGINAL: Eg-r

    No, I don't have a temp gun to check. I was able to use the entire 3s battery and at that point I couldn't put my finger on the motor cause it was soo hot. I forgot to time how long the battery last, but maybe around 30-45min. *It's too tight on the esc so there no way I was able to touch that. What other type of gears can I do for upgrades?
    finger test doesnt cut it for figuring out what is top gearing. anything over 130 is too hot to keep you finger on, yet that motor can run 160 without damage. I have run a motor upto 190 without damage. 160 is a safe range. I like to keep the ESC alittle cooler...140ish.

    Im not sure how big of a pinion gear you can fit on the caldera. but when it comes to gearing up, 2 teeth can make the difference of 2-5mph.
    but dont gear up untill you know how hot your ESC/motor are running now.
    SC10rs, 1/6 hummer crawler, Kyosho Twin Force, Lunchbox project, Techone P51,

  5. #5

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    , CA
    Posts
    20
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: My caldera 10e top speed

    Anyone has experience with brushless hobbie lt4 esc? I can't get mine to connect. I'm running window 7 on my computer and only got to connection once. Now I can't change my bad adjustment tune that I was testing.  It there any way to program it back to the stock 508 program
     Manually with the esc?

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Laurel, DE
    Posts
    63
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: My caldera 10e top speed


    ORIGINAL: Eg-r

    I've been having many problems with my caldera and I finally got the chance to get it running with no problems
    at the moment. I was able to GPS my rc using my iPhone. I've got a top speed of 48mph on a couple try's. I'm running 3a lipo with brushless hobbie 120a esc, tacon 9650 motor and 15t pinion gear. I'm still running the stock 508 program from the esc. I've been having problems not be able to connect to my laptop. Maybe if I can get it to reprogram and try other difference modes. I've try everything on the manual and can't get it to connect . I've even try and different laptop and still nothing. Anybody eles GPS their caldera?
    Here's my vidhttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4bcUD1i-ESQwww.youtube.com/watchwith mine reaching speeds around 54mph on a 20T pinion on 3s lipo.

    I've now run a 21T pinion with 2s lipo around 47-49mph and above 55mph on 3s.

    Pull the trigger, you gone Crash or Bash!

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Laurel, DE
    Posts
    63
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: My caldera 10e top speed


    ORIGINAL: nitrosportsandrunner


    ORIGINAL: Eg-r

    I've been having many problems with my caldera and I finally got the chance to get it running with no problems
    at the moment. I was able to GPS my rc using my iPhone. I've got a top speed of 48mph on a couple try's. I'm running 3a lipo with brushless hobbie 120a esc, tacon 9650 motor and 15t pinion gear. I'm still running the stock 508 program from the esc. I've been having problems not be able to connect to my laptop. Maybe if I can get it to reprogram and try other difference modes. I've try everything on the manual and can't get it to connect . I've even try and different laptop and still nothing. Anybody eles GPS their caldera?
    your speed is respectable.
    did you get a temp reading on the ESC/motor? I suspect you could gear it up some. as long as motor temps dont exceed 160.
    Thanks to Nitrosport, I've got mine running those blazing speeds with a Volcano EPX pro ESC & a 3300kv motor.

    Pull the trigger, you gone Crash or Bash!

  8. #8
    nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    skowhegan, ME
    Posts
    9,064
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: My caldera 10e top speed


    ORIGINAL: Eshore


    ORIGINAL: nitrosportsandrunner


    ORIGINAL: Eg-r

    *I've been having many problems with my caldera and I finally got the chance to get it running with no problems
    *at the moment. I was able to GPS my rc using my iPhone. I've got a top speed of 48mph on a couple try's. I'm running 3a lipo with brushless hobbie 120a esc, *tacon 9650 motor and 15t pinion gear. I'm still running the stock 508 program from the esc. I've been having problems not be able to connect to my laptop. Maybe if I can get it to reprogram and try other difference modes. I've try everything on the manual and can't get it to connect . I've even try and different laptop and still nothing. Anybody eles GPS their caldera?
    your speed is respectable.
    did you get a temp reading on the ESC/motor? I suspect you could gear it up some. as long as motor temps dont exceed 160.
    Thanks to Nitrosport, I've got mine running those blazing speeds with a Volcano EPX pro ESC & a 3300kv motor.

    glad to hear you got the speed you wanted.
    SC10rs, 1/6 hummer crawler, Kyosho Twin Force, Lunchbox project, Techone P51,

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Laurel, DE
    Posts
    63
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: My caldera 10e top speed


    ORIGINAL: nitrosportsandrunner


    ORIGINAL: Eshore


    ORIGINAL: nitrosportsandrunner


    ORIGINAL: Eg-r

    I've been having many problems with my caldera and I finally got the chance to get it running with no problems
    at the moment. I was able to GPS my rc using my iPhone. I've got a top speed of 48mph on a couple try's. I'm running 3a lipo with brushless hobbie 120a esc, tacon 9650 motor and 15t pinion gear. I'm still running the stock 508 program from the esc. I've been having problems not be able to connect to my laptop. Maybe if I can get it to reprogram and try other difference modes. I've try everything on the manual and can't get it to connect . I've even try and different laptop and still nothing. Anybody eles GPS their caldera?
    your speed is respectable.
    did you get a temp reading on the ESC/motor? I suspect you could gear it up some. as long as motor temps dont exceed 160.
    Thanks to Nitrosport, I've got mine running those blazing speeds with a Volcano EPX pro ESC & a 3300kv motor.

    glad to hear you got the speed you wanted.
    Hey man I tried that 21T pinion and with just 2s lipo it will move. Its nice for hard dirt or low grass, and heat is still managable.

    Pull the trigger, you gone Crash or Bash!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:09 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.