Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > Redcat Racing Support
Reload this Page >

Timing setting for Caldera 10e and stock charger question

Community
Search
Notices
Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Timing setting for Caldera 10e and stock charger question

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2013, 08:47 AM
jcjrogers

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Timing setting for Caldera 10e and stock charger question

I got my first RC car, a Caldera 10e. I'm new to cars, but not to RC (have two helis and a boat). Programming the ESC is new to me, and I think I understand everything but the timing. The instructions state that timing is variable and that there is a default setting at 15. I don't know if the type of battery matters, but I'm using stock battery until Hobby King gets around to shipping my lipo, which is a 2S 5000 mAh lipo pack. Where should I set the timing?Unfortunately, the Thunder A6 charger I just received has nothing but boxes across the LED. Until Hobbypartz sends me an RMA and I get a new charger, I'm stuck with the stock charger. The instructions that came with the car said nothing about the stock charger/battery. My question is, how do you know that the battery is charged? My boat has a cheap charger/battery, and the instructions say that when the battery is hot, it is done charging... seems pretty unsophisticated to me. The charger that came with the Caldera has a red light, but I doubt it has the ability to change colors when the charge is done. Do I just wait until the battery is hot?
Old 06-01-2013, 10:29 AM
nitrosportsandrunner

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default RE: Timing setting for Caldera 10e and stock charger question

I think the the stock charger takes 4-6 hours. Its a trickle charger (charges at very low amps) and the battery will likely not even get warm.