Community
Search
Notices
Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Need help with Tornado S30

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2013, 10:56 AM
Bosanski

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help with Tornado S30

New to the site and new to RC (thankfully not new to forums haha)

anyway im having some problems with my Tornado S30

the guy i bought it from decided to take off the front driveshaft so it was RWD. why, idk, your guess is better than mine haha

anyway when i got home i started it and drove it around a bit easy to make sure it was fine. after maybe 5 min i took it inside for the day.
next morning i go take it out to go to the local park and drive it, and when i start it and give it some throttle, nothing, it hardly moves. i tried going WOT and it barely crawls.
Im new to RC but im thinking my clutch/tranny? the teeth dont seem to be too worn out but then again im not too sure.
also it was spitting out more fuel/oil than it was and wasted maybe half a tank (75cc tank) in just a few min of sitting and idling.

i need any and all help! thanks ahead and cant wait to get this thing fixed soon.

i can post a video or pictures if someone needs it to help diagnose incase my description was bad or too vague.
Old 09-10-2013, 05:02 PM
Bosanski

i have a spare transmission from a parts car (parts car runs but needs pull start and axles for front right tire so i figure ill use it for parts unless i find the few small things it needs soon

the other car is a forza exceed/redcat shockwave

seems identical to both so not sure which, has a VX-16 motor
my Tornado has a VX-18

the tranny from the shockwave/exceed is a single speed, right now the S30 has a 2 speed, worth switching out? i dnt do a lot or racing, mostly mild bashing and driving through the park/local golf course