Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

twister xtg pro

Reply
Old 03-08-2014, 04:35 PM
  #1
Josh0224
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default twister xtg pro

I have two questions actually...

1) are there any modifications that can be done to make the pin type hubs into hex? I keep stripping out rear wheels every three to four runs...

2) are there any aluminum hop ups for this vehicle? The wife broke my front lower suspension arms today ...
Josh0224 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 10:35 AM
  #2
Redcat James
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 77
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Possibly Losi or Kyosho hex's would mount on those axles. Here are some parts http://www.redcatracing.com/Search#c...ER-XTG#kw=alum & http://www.redcatracing.com/Search#c...-XTG#kw=carbon
Redcat James is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 03:42 PM
  #3
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

redcat has alloy upgrades. not sure about the arms, but shock towers, caster block, and wheel hubs...maybe a few other parts.

team associated RC10 T3's used pin style wheels. Im not certain, but they should fit the buggy. Also, might want to loosen your slipper clutch a little.
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 02:12 PM
  #4
REDCATMATT02
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I can not get any motors to run right in my volcano epx. The last two motors I have installed have burned out after breaking them in and then running them full speed once.
REDCATMATT02 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 02:15 PM
  #5
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by REDCATMATT02 View Post
I can not get any motors to run right in my volcano epx. The last two motors I have installed have burned out after breaking them in and then running them full speed once.
gear mesh to tight maybe? that will cause a much higher load on the motor and make it overheat. The pinion and spur gear's teeth need to mesh but not touch. the gears should spin freely by hand with a proper mesh.

Other possible issue is if you have binding at one of the wheels. any binding anywhere (center shaft, diffs, wheels) will put a greater load on the motor.
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 02:19 PM
  #6
REDCATMATT02
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I can not get any motors to run right in my volcano epx. The last two motors I have installed have burned out after breaking them in and then running them full speed once.
REDCATMATT02 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 02:22 PM
  #7
REDCATMATT02
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The truck came with a 550 motor. I could not get 550 motors at any hobby shop so I switched too using a 540 motor and they are the two motors that have burned out after one run. Could switching from a 550 to a 540 motor be my problem
REDCATMATT02 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 02:38 PM
  #8
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by REDCATMATT02 View Post
The truck came with a 550 motor. I could not get 550 motors at any hobby shop so I switched too using a 540 motor and they are the two motors that have burned out after one run. Could switching from a 550 to a 540 motor be my problem
AH!
firstly, what turn rating do your 540 motors have?
a 550 will have slightly more torque than a 540 (given both have the same turn rating)
Im guessing now you have a motor with to low a turn rating. that will burn them up real fast as they don't have enough torque and will always struggle getting up to max rpms. that constant struggle means lots more heat.

I had assumed before you had replaced with stock motors. LMK what motors you got.
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 12:06 PM
  #9
REDCATMATT02
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The turn rating on the stock motor was 27 I burnt up two 20 turn motors and got a 19 turn motor from redcat as a replacement for my first motor.
REDCATMATT02 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 01:40 PM
  #10
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I believe the 19t only works in the sandstorm and lightning models, as they have much smaller tires and thus that reduces the gearing and allows for the lower turn motor which wants to turn at higher rpms (lower the turns, higher the rpms but less torque)
You need a 27t motor. you might get away with a 20t, but only if you install a smaller pinion gear to compensate (lowering the gearing ratio)
trying to put anything lower than 27t with the stock gearing is putting a lot of stress on the motor as it wont have the torque needed to get the wheels moving like the stock motor. stress=heat and that burns up the brushes (they will either break or actually melt) and then they stop working.
motors you can buy:
stock 27t
hpi 27t
axial 27t
the axial and hpi motors can be found fairly cheap on ebay.
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 04:12 PM
  #11
REDCATMATT02
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Would the motor have to be a 550 motor or would a 540 motor be ok
REDCATMATT02 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 04:27 PM
  #12
REDCATMATT02
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 6
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Would the motor have to be a 550 motor or would a 540 motor be ok
REDCATMATT02 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 05:05 PM
  #13
nitrosportsandrunner
 
nitrosportsandrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: skowhegan, ME
Posts: 9,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by REDCATMATT02 View Post
Would the motor have to be a 550 motor or would a 540 motor be ok
550 is slightly better, but a decent quality 540 that is 27t will do just fine. The larger can means slightly more torque. But as long as the motor is 27 turns it will have enough torque and the right amount of rpms to move the truck. and a axial 27t 540 is a bit higher quality than the stock 550 27t.
nitrosportsandrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:19 AM.