Community
Search
Notices
Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Ground Pounder issues...

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2014, 06:02 PM
security22

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ground Pounder issues...

I'm new to the RC world and just bought a GP today. Took it out of the box looked it over and everything seemed ok. Put on the wheels and took it out for a test run. Not long into the test run the left tire falls of. Thinking I might not have put it on tight enough but that;s not the case only the front left tire comes loose. Not even an hour into it and the gears start stripping and it's already on the shelf until I replace the cheap plastic one with metal or aluminum. Should my gears strip so easily?? Can someone recommend where to get an upgraded 81T spur gear?

Thanks!
Old 03-13-2014, 01:56 PM
zackS30

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Sounds like the mesh wasnt set correct or the motor moved back some how.
As far as the wheels coming off did u make sure all the nuts were tight? I locktite mine.
Old 03-13-2014, 03:46 PM
security22

Thanks for your reply. Yes I made sure the nuts were tight but haven't investigated further because the truck is not running until new parts come in. After taking it apart I notice a basically melted some of the teeth on the spur gear. I have two machined spur gears on the way a 43T spur gear and to go with it a 12t pinion. I also ordered a machined 81t spur gear so I can go back and forth to see which type of gearing I like the best. I'm not too happy I have to put in this work after just an hour of use but I already learned alot about this truck and think it's still a good truck to bash with.
Old 03-13-2014, 07:25 PM
zackS30

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Have u though trying to get redcat to warrenty the parts? Ive not had to use them for the warrenty but I read they r the best.
Old 03-15-2014, 09:14 AM
security22