Notices
Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Steering Fix For Redacat Maybe

Old 08-05-2014, 09:24 PM
nycicles

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Steering Fix For Redacat Maybe

So i bought my Earthquake 3.5 about a month ago. First NITRO RC ever and I am a noob but like taking things apart and so on. Electric is for women in my humble opinion!!! Yes i have had problems so far but hey, if your not gonna fix things then this isnt for you. I did an upgrade maybe and wanted to know what everybody thought about it. I had a problem with screws coming loose and falling off for the steering linkage. I thought of an idea and bought longer M3 scews with washers and used lock nuts. I have installed it today and have all the clearance so nothing is rubbing. Seems to be working really great so far. I even used the same method on the arms that connect to the steering link. I bought all the hardware at Home Depot for like $2.00. I bought a new steering servo saver but tried it on the old one first just incase i break it. I have attached a few pics and would just like your thoughts.I hope this is a fix to my problem and hopefully others.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	20140805_171920 (1).jpg
Views:	375
Size:	4.19 MB
ID:	2020435   Click image for larger version

Name:	20140805_174414.jpg
Views:	563
Size:	4.85 MB
ID:	2020436   Click image for larger version

Name:	20140806_002045.jpg
Views:	309
Size:	1.92 MB
ID:	2020438  
Old 08-14-2014, 12:20 PM
ijpom

With the hardened M3 socket head screws and the ny-lock nuts, that is never going to pull out or vibrate loose! Was it constructed only with self-tapping screws into plastic from the factory?
Old 08-15-2014, 08:39 AM
Redcat James

Did you use shoulder screws, do you have a picture of them? Yes they come from the factory threaded into plastic
Old 08-24-2014, 08:09 PM
FatNinja