Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > Redcat Racing Support
Reload this Page >

Bad experience with Volcano EPX Pro

Notices
Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Bad experience with Volcano EPX Pro

Old 07-21-2016, 03:56 AM
rob989_69

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bad experience with Volcano EPX Pro

I purchased my Volcano a little over a month ago from an online retailer. Got the truck, charged the battery, and took it out into my back yard. I'm a newb with RC cars, I had them alot when I was a kid but this was my first "hobby grade." It ran for 2 minutes before shutting down. I assumed it was the cheapo charger not charging the LiPo battery. So, I let it charge a full 8 hours and tested the following day. Again, 2 minutes of run time. So, thinking it may be a bad charger or battery and purchased a better charger, and a second battery. All Redcat branded products by the way.

After charging the new 5800mah battery on the new charger, getting the indicator that it was complete. I felt sure the 3rd run would be a success. Unfortunately not. Still 2 minutes of run time, then it shuts down.

The side effect of this problem is that it doesn't just run normally then suddenly turn off. It runs normally for a minute or so. Then, it starts to stutter. From standing start I pull the trigger and nothing happens, then it slowly starts to move forward, then all of a sudden it shoots off like a rocket. Because of this running into things has become unavoidable, it's already difficult for a newbie like me to control when running normally but when it does this it's impossible. So, there's quite a list of things that have broken and been fixed in the few short weeks I've had it.