Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > Redcat Racing Support
Reload this Page >

New to this site and hobby! Have with a few questions about the Blackout XTE

Community
Search
Notices
Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

New to this site and hobby! Have with a few questions about the Blackout XTE

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2015, 08:22 AM
pbrady5

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to this site and hobby! Have with a few questions about the Blackout XTE

Hello everyone! My name is Patrick, and I'm relatively new to the world of RC cars and trucks. I'm a bit of an amateur cinematographer and own two drones (Yuneec Q500 4K and a Phantom 2 Vision +), but when it comes to RC cars and trucks my knowledge is limited to toy grade.

Long story short, my son is an RC truck fanatic. He's about to turn 6 and has been driving higher end toy grade trucks for a few years now, but we're getting tired of throwing money away on them. He needs something that's water proof or water resistant, reasonably durable (He's 5, we expect some bashing), and something that can be upgraded or serviced as things break or go wrong. I'm no stranger to electronics, working with motors (both brushed and brushless) and working with LiPo batteries, so I plan to learn as much as I can about the RedCat Blackout XTE that we purchased for my son for Christmas.

Looking back on this, I'm not certain that this was the best vehicle to have purchased for him. I did my best to research as many options as I could find, and the XTE seemed like a good deal when you consider the price, the scale (the larger the better in his eyes), and availability. But, after the vehicle shipped, I started coming across some forum posts suggesting that these vehicles aren't the most durable and I started doubting whether or not I made a good choice.