Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > Redcat Racing Support
Reload this Page >

Balancing your wheels/tires. Don't spend up to $60 on a balancer. Make one. It's easy

Community
Search
Notices
Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Balancing your wheels/tires. Don't spend up to $60 on a balancer. Make one. It's easy

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2017, 12:09 AM
jdub_white

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Balancing your wheels/tires. Don't spend up to $60 on a balancer. Make one. It's easy

I recently discovered some videos on YouTube on how to balance your rc wheels/tires. There are plenty very informative videos on how to do this. It is a very simple process. So I will not post such a video since there are so many good ones available already.

Until I ran across these videos I was unaware that this needs to be done. I am no expert now but I have discovered that most wheel/tire sets that come on your vehicle or sets that you purchase are not balanced. I did purchase a set of Prolines that were balanced correctly but for the price of those things they darn well should be. I'm sure many of you are aware of this but for those who aren't I hope this info can help you.

The next thing I discovered is that wheel/tire balancing systems can be very expensive. I've seen them priced for $15 up to $60! I have a tendency to get creative when it comes to saving money. So I easily created a system for free made from spare parts I had for my Redcat Blackout XTE Pro, an aluminum rod, and some scrap wood I had on hand. It works absolutely great. Posted below are pictures of my wheel/tire balancer. Hopefully you can get some ideas on how to make your own and save yourself upwards of $60. Please don't make fun of the red glitter spray paint. This frame was originally used to hold a jewelry box while painting it glitter red for my mom's mothers day present.