Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Upgrading motor and Esc

Reply

Old 02-10-2019, 05:41 AM
  #1  
cmmobley1977
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Upgrading motor and Esc

I have a brushed Blackout XTE. I am looking to upgrade the motor and esc in the unit. So Iím hoping one of you will know a good brushless motor and esc combo that will fit and if Iíll need to change the pinion gear?
cmmobley1977 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 04:11 PM
  #2  
RustyUs
 
RustyUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: central PA
Posts: 4,410
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

80A ESC: https://www.ebay.com/itm/80A-120A-Br...nhxA:rk:3:pf:0
550 3800kv motor: https://www.rcjuice.com/hobbystar-55...ess-motor.html

Don't forget about needing to swap out connectors on ESC to match whatever battery connector you are currently using.

No-name combo: https://www.ebay.com/itm/Waterproof-...LCOFXUCg%3D%3D

Just remember some of those really low money items can be hit or miss at times. Also note length of motor and the amount of room you have to mount a new motor. That extra protective plastic cover, around the ESC, may need to go when thinking about 3660 size motors.

When looking at motor specs, check out the motor shaft size as well. Some will have 3.17mm (1/8") shafts, while larger motors may have 5mm shafts.

Last edited by RustyUs; 02-10-2019 at 04:34 PM.
RustyUs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 06:22 PM
  #3  
mondongox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 1
Default

Hello, i have the same car , and i want to upgrade it too, my only question is, can i use the same batteries (7.2V NiMH), or using those batteries its worthless?
mondongox is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:10 AM
  #4  
RustyUs
 
RustyUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: central PA
Posts: 4,410
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Sure, you can use your existing NiMh batteries with brushless motors/speed controls. You just have to make sure you set the speed control's low voltage cutoff to NiMh, or you will have very short runtimes when the voltage drops.
RustyUs is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service