Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Volcano epx 150 Amps

Reply

Old 04-12-2019, 03:22 PM
  #1  
Arrowfight
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 25
Default Volcano epx 150 Amps

Iíve been wanting to put a hobby-wing QUICRUN 150amp esc in my Volcano Epx, I only have 11 1/2 centimeters of space between the gears and the servo, the esc takes up 4.8 centimeters which leaves about 6.7 for the motor, Iím having a hard time finding any motors that can take 150 amps and 3s lipo that are small enough. Any advice on motors in good, Iím looking in the 2000-4000 kv range. Thanks for your help
Arrowfight is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2019, 06:09 PM
  #2  
RustyUs
 
RustyUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: central PA
Posts: 4,442
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I'd test the waters with a GoolRC 3660 3300kv twenty dollar motor. That's just me though. YMMV. I not quite sure of you intentions for going with a 3S LiPo battery. A motor will only draw what it needs from the battery. If you find a motor that requires a 150A ESC to control the power, then more than likely it's going to be for a 1/8 scale RC meant for running 6S LiPo batteries.
RustyUs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 12:10 PM
  #3  
Arrowfight
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 25
Default

Originally Posted by RustyUs View Post
I'd test the waters with a GoolRC 3660 3300kv twenty dollar motor. That's just me though. YMMV. I not quite sure of you intentions for going with a 3S LiPo battery. A motor will only draw what it needs from the battery. If you find a motor that requires a 150A ESC to control the power, then more than likely it's going to be for a 1/8 scale RC meant for running 6S LiPo batteries.
The problem with that Gool RC motor is it caps outs at 80 amps, then there is 70 wasted amps, if the motor is a lower kv then I’ll got from 3-6s lipo

Last edited by Arrowfight; 04-19-2019 at 12:11 PM. Reason: .........
Arrowfight is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 03:48 PM
  #4  
RustyUs
 
RustyUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: central PA
Posts: 4,442
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

There is only so much power that tranny is going to handle. There is only so much room in the chassis.
RustyUs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2019, 04:21 PM
  #5  
Arrowfight
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 25
Default

I guess.. if anyone else has recommendations please leave a recommendation
Arrowfight is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service