Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Electronics upgrade?

Reply
Old 02-17-2006, 12:44 AM
  #1
platinumchopper
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Graham, TX
Posts: 71
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Electronics upgrade?

will this set up work in the Torndo Xp?..... http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...I=LXASX3**&P=0 Will every thing be compatable, and work corectly, also are the servos good enough? (for tornado xp) thanks
platinumchopper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 12:55 AM
  #2
Xeller8
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: York, NE
Posts: 473
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Electronics upgrade?

Do yourself a favor and spend a little more if you are able...that is pretty much the bottom of the food chain of Futabas plus it is an AM setup...pretty comparable to what you get in most RTR kits...about the only plus to it is that it is a Futaba.

Do yourself an even BIGGER favor and get an FM setup....
Xeller8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 01:01 AM
  #3
platinumchopper
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Graham, TX
Posts: 71
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Electronics upgrade?

but it would be compatable right? (i will get a better one , i just wanted to know if a similer set up would fit on a tornado xp) thanks
platinumchopper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 01:06 AM
  #4
platinumchopper
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Graham, TX
Posts: 71
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Electronics upgrade?

better..... http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...I=LXENN0**&P=0
platinumchopper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 01:10 AM
  #5
platinumchopper
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Graham, TX
Posts: 71
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Electronics upgrade?

sweeter..... http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...I=LXGAG4**&P=0
platinumchopper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 01:11 AM
  #6
platinumchopper
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Graham, TX
Posts: 71
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Electronics upgrade?

on this one...http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...I=LXGAG4**&P=0 would i just leave the 3rd servo plug unpluged? and would this one work great?
platinumchopper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 01:20 AM
  #7
platinumchopper
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Graham, TX
Posts: 71
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Electronics upgrade?

is this what u have? http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...odID=JRP317275 did every thing fit with no modification? cuz i might get it!
platinumchopper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 01:33 AM
  #8
Xeller8
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: York, NE
Posts: 473
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Electronics upgrade?

Yes...the last one is what I have...

That third one is a good choice too..and yes...everything will fit with any controller.
Xeller8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 01:39 AM
  #9
jcam54
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 434
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Electronics upgrade?

this is what you need--- http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...I=LXGAG3**&P=7
I bought the one with the s3003 servos and regret not geting the this one with the biger servo for steering.
Just switch stock st. servo with this new one and switch stock st. servo with stock thr/brake servo, it will work great.
the new servo with radio is a high tq. rated at @90+oz. at 4.8 volts or 124oz. at 6 volts
jcam54 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 02:24 PM
  #10
platinumchopper
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Graham, TX
Posts: 71
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Electronics upgrade?

on this setup http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...I=LXGAG3**&P=7 it says it comes with a battery box..does it fit in that compartmant on the tornado xp in place of the battery holder fine ,and how many batterys does it hold...aslo can a stock redcat servo plug in this futaba reciever with the stock plug coming from the servo? thanks
platinumchopper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 06:35 PM
  #11
Xeller8
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: York, NE
Posts: 473
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Electronics upgrade?

The "battery box" they are talking about is probably the same thing you have now or similar..."Jcam" could answer that better since he has that same Futaba you are thinking about getting...

And yes...everything should fit and plug in just fine...most all of this stuff is standardized.
Xeller8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 08:40 PM
  #12
jcam54
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 434
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Electronics upgrade?

yes the batt. box is almost exactly the same as stock, But I would advise you to purchase the nicd batterys for the transmiter
and receiver.
* Optional Receiver NiCd: (FUTM1295)
* Optional NiCd Charger: (FUTM1830)
and the transmiter batt. futm1462
in the long run you will spend less---no expensive AA batt. to buy just recharge and with the charger you can charge both batts at same time
jcam54 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 11:31 PM
  #13
platinumchopper
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Graham, TX
Posts: 71
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Electronics upgrade?

Thanks jcam54 and Xeller8 your info helps very much, i apreachiate that you all was patient with my questions.... i will order it next friday thank you
platinumchopper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2006, 12:15 AM
  #14
jcam54
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 434
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Electronics upgrade?

No problem, just returning the favor---someone has helped me, so I pass on what little I know.
jcam54 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2006, 12:23 AM
  #15
Xeller8
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: York, NE
Posts: 473
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Electronics upgrade?

No prob....we are here to help.[8D]
Xeller8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2006, 03:01 PM
  #16
platinumchopper
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Graham, TX
Posts: 71
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Electronics upgrade?

Ordered the Futaba 3PM-FM in channel 70 (75.590 MHz) with reciever today, I have read all over the internet that it is awsomely sweet! so i cant wait till it gets here! Thanks Guys
platinumchopper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:26 PM.