Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

batteries

Reply
Old 03-14-2006, 09:29 AM
  #1
danegoodwin
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: , LA
Posts: 29
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default batteries

i have read that i shouldnt use rechargeable batteries. is it ok for the remote control or the car itself??? i really would hate to have to buy 12 aa's.
danegoodwin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 10:09 AM
  #2
bluecaka69
 
bluecaka69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: bILLINGS, MT
Posts: 2,169
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: batteries

thats all been covered here http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_39...tm.htm#3978505
bluecaka69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 11:43 AM
  #3
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: batteries

i would suggest buying a humped rechargable battery pack for your car, they cost around $20. Dont buy the flat pack cause it wont fit in the redcats. There are 5 batteries instead of 4 so you need the hump pack. It saves a ton of money in the long run. I would suggest getting a good charger too, something like the mrc super brain, its the one i have and it charges just about everything, only need to by some removeable ends for it. If you have a failsafe it will drain your batteries so its best to get the rechargable, you can make a groove with the plug sticking out so you can just charge the battery without taking the cover over, hate trying to fit the battery, reciever, top with switch, every time you want to change the batteries.
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 11:50 AM
  #4
Xeller8
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: York, NE
Posts: 473
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: batteries

Oh God I know!....whoever designed that receiver box had their head up their arse!
Xeller8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 11:53 AM
  #5
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: batteries

how funny is it with the switch in the way, and right above the cover is the throttle linkage, servo arm and the switch on the cover in that little spot, yuk!!!!!!! just cut out a notch in the cover, pull out the batter plug, (using a rechargable) and just charge overnight or on a quick charger, you'll never hopefully have to take the cover off again.
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 10:39 PM
  #6
danegoodwin
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: , LA
Posts: 29
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: batteries

can i use rechargeable batteries in the remote. and is there a place on the car that holds the batteries like a tv remote, or ne thing else??? or do i need some sort of pack??
danegoodwin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 10:47 PM
  #7
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: batteries

you can use aa rechargable batteries in the transmitter but you cant in the vehicle itself, regular batteries give 1.5 volts, rechargables give 1.2. you would need 5 rechargable to equal 4 regular batteries. there is a holder under the switch on the car, you need to remove the 3 screws that hold the cover in place. there is a holder for 4 batteries there, they have to be alkaline since you need 6 volts, if you buy the rechargable hump battery there is 5 and it will fit in that spot. Do you have the instruction book? Did you read it at all, even though it translation is a joke, it does show you where the batteries go, i suggest you read it a little before you try to use it.
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 02:40 AM
  #8
GamerKid
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: LeMars, IA
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: batteries

How do you hook up these battery packs to the car? Where do they plug in at? Do you have to solder them, to the wires on the original battery holder?
GamerKid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:14 AM.