Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Darin , I want my radio to work !!

Reply
Old 03-29-2006, 06:22 PM
  #1
AJsToyz
Thread Starter
 
AJsToyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maybee, MI
Posts: 2,722
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Darin , I want my radio to work !!

I contacted Redcat sales with a question , I'll just post the email for you and the response.

Q: I was driving my Tornado XP today and the Radio went crazy. For no reason the brakes locked on the car and the only way to onlocked them was to turn off the transmitter. The car was on a straight away and just stopped. Then while I was trying to figure it out the throttle servo just started going crazy on its own. I shut the radio off for three or four minutes and it seems to be working. Is this a common issue ??

A: It is. All you have to do is let it sit for a while and let the Glow plug cool down.

Thanks,
Violette

Um, I really don't want to stop playing everytime the engine gets up to operating temp!!
AJsToyz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 06:34 PM
  #2
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Darin , I want my radio to work !!

LOL, They need someone at redcat that knows about their products. Seems as though they just started to sell a product without knowledge or research. Glow plug cooling so radio works. hmmmmmmmm
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 07:48 PM
  #3
chopper22980
 
chopper22980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: madison heights, VA
Posts: 191
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Darin , I want my radio to work !!

LMAO....That is too freaking funny....glow plug.If your tire goes flat....let the glow plug cool down.Sorry guy's I had to say that...Here's your sign....
chopper22980 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 07:49 PM
  #4
AJsToyz
Thread Starter
 
AJsToyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maybee, MI
Posts: 2,722
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Darin , I want my radio to work !!

Yah know, I'm going to say something and this is really really stretching .... If I was driving my car with the battery hanging off the head < are you getting a good visual yet? > maybe , just maybe there would be the slightest chance of some tiny bit of radio static. Hey ... maybe this has a new thermal radio ... heh heh ... no batteries in the desert heat ??
AJsToyz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 08:19 PM
  #5
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Darin , I want my radio to work !!

maybe there is a heat sensitive failsafe built into the car????
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 09:10 PM
  #6
AJsToyz
Thread Starter
 
AJsToyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maybee, MI
Posts: 2,722
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Darin , I want my radio to work !!

Ok , now your scaring me , the only time it did this is with the body on ! I would be really upset if I could only run it for about 30 seconds a pop with the body on.
AJsToyz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 09:18 PM
  #7
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Darin , I want my radio to work !!

just fooling, i doubt there is a heat sensative failsafe
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 09:22 PM
  #8
AJsToyz
Thread Starter
 
AJsToyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maybee, MI
Posts: 2,722
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Darin , I want my radio to work !!

Yeh but that was a scary though !!! [X(]
AJsToyz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 09:28 PM
  #9
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Darin , I want my radio to work !!

maybe change your glow plug
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 09:32 PM
  #10
Noob2Nitro
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Darin , I want my radio to work !!

Before changing the glow plug, check your tire preseaure![sm=bananahead.gif]
Noob2Nitro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 09:43 PM
  #11
AJsToyz
Thread Starter
 
AJsToyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maybee, MI
Posts: 2,722
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Darin , I want my radio to work !!

A colder plug ?? That would lose some heat ! [sm=spinnyeyes.gif]
AJsToyz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 09:45 PM
  #12
AJsToyz
Thread Starter
 
AJsToyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maybee, MI
Posts: 2,722
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Darin , I want my radio to work !!

Hey , I bet if I switch the lefts to the rights it would act better !!
AJsToyz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 09:45 PM
  #13
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Darin , I want my radio to work !!

maybe richen your high end needle valve, would make the plug run cooler thus making your radio system work better[:-]
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 09:47 PM
  #14
AJsToyz
Thread Starter
 
AJsToyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maybee, MI
Posts: 2,722
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Darin , I want my radio to work !!

Not just better , it make more better !!!
AJsToyz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2006, 12:08 AM
  #15
chopper22980
 
chopper22980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: madison heights, VA
Posts: 191
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Darin , I want my radio to work !!

Hey try switching your glow plug with the crystal from your radio.
That way if your radio runs hot you can cool down your crystal....lmao

That made no sense but was funny at the idea of it....

I hope you do get everything straight though....

chopper22980 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2006, 07:45 AM
  #16
AJsToyz
Thread Starter
 
AJsToyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maybee, MI
Posts: 2,722
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Darin , I want my radio to work !!

Thanks Chopper ,

Well , at least if I'm not having a total blast driving the car , I'm having fun with it some way or another !! LOL The bad part is I thought I broke a steering arm because of Radio interferance . Did I? Or am I buying parts for a car that is self destructing ? Last time it went crazy it went full throttle and smashed into something. Tweaked the chassis and broke a steering arm. So that cost me 10.00 bucks to repair the steering , and seeing that its not bent really bad I'm not going to worry about the chassis. It loohs to be tweaked just a little near the front bumper. Ok , thats a new issue, I accidenally ordered a wrong part. They cancelled that part of the order but are giving me a store credit ?? I charged the $%^&%^&&*(&*^&*%^(* Thing !! Credit my #$%^#$%^#$%^#$% ing credit card !! I do know I will NOT deal with Redcat direct for parts anymore. I should not have to ask for my money back , should just happen when the order was cancelled.

Ok , thats my next post If I cannot get that fixed !![:@]
AJsToyz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:37 AM.