Notices
Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Fresh engine

Old 05-27-2006, 01:19 PM
Nexous

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fresh engine

OK, i am totally new to the scene and have a brand new 1/10 redcat .16 on-road.
I checked over the entire manual it came with to make sure everything was correct setup-wise with the car from what the book said. got a charged glow starter %20 HPI fuel. brandnew battries. all ready to go... but am having a bit of engine trouble.. i finally got it to start after flooding and de-flooding the engine a few times. (n00b). my mistakes. but i am able to get it started with ease now but it rev's out and wants to just fly off without any throttle applied at all. i looked over the book again about fuel mixture. (lean/rich) idle screws. and i cant find anything that has factory settings. i know its not set right and dont want to fry out my engine before i even get to use it. so after about three starts. the most i left it run was about 5 secs, before stopping fuel flow to kill the engine. any help.?? remember. brand new engine. out of box.
Old 05-27-2006, 01:59 PM
Popper252

Default RE: Fresh engine

Hey buddy, welcome to the forums. Check out this [link=http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_4207842/tm.htm]THREAD[/link] about half way down. I've got a picture of all the different adjustment screws and the factory settings. It sounds to me like your idle screw is open too much and even at idle the engine is getting enough gas to take off. Also play with your throttle control tab on your radio. You want it so that when it's idleing the throttle should be closed all the way and the brakes aren't engaged.
If you have anymore questions let us know. That manual sucks...
Old 05-27-2006, 10:10 PM
wildspeed

Be sure to check the switches on your transmiter
Old 05-28-2006, 04:07 AM
ThunderbirdJunkie
My Feedback: (3)

ORIGINAL: Nexous

%20 HPI fuel.