Community
Search
Notices
Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

question on the volcano!!!

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2006, 04:51 PM
monroefan259

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default question on the volcano!!!

I just bought a volcano and i am fairly new to the hobby but everytime i start it up it idles way to fast i have messed with the idle screw but eithr way i turn the screw it seems like it has no effect on the idling. PLEASE i need help ive had it for about a month and havent got to run it
Old 12-13-2006, 05:05 PM
glk420247

Default RE: question on the volcano!!!

Read this thread it will help [link]http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_5111495/anchors_5112009/mpage_1/anchor/tm.htm#5112009[/link]
Old 12-13-2006, 05:08 PM
glk420247

The following are what the factory settings are incase you ended up tuning things to the point where the car won't start anymore:
High Speed Needle (HSN) - Turn the screw all the way down (clockwise) but don't tighten it. Then unscrew it 2 1/2 to 3 turns (Counter Clockwise).
Low Speed Needle (LSN) - Should be flush with the collar.
Idle Screw Adjustment - Take off your air filter and make sure your throttle is at idle. Then make sure that the opening in the carb is about 1mm.
Attached Images  
Old 12-13-2006, 05:13 PM
glk420247

Also make sure on your remote your throttle trim is set to neutral.
Old 12-13-2006, 07:14 PM
zack221

here is how to tune it if you have already broke it in if you havent go back to the stock settings glk posted

here is a simple way to tune your car i had mine running in about 10min after i fixed the air leak it had a air leak where the exhaust connects to the motor (you may want to check for a air leak because if the adjustments arent doing anything you might have a air leak)

ccw means turn the screw counter clockwise
cw means turn the screw clockwise

lsn-ccw richens and cw leans
hsn-cw leans and ccw richens
idle-cw opens the gap and ccw closes the gap