Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

BATTERY PACK FOR TRANSMITTER?

Reply
Old 12-26-2006, 10:01 PM
  #1
ganjamatik
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: fresno, CA
Posts: 220
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default BATTERY PACK FOR TRANSMITTER?

IS THERE ANY TYPE OF BATER PACK OUT THERE FOR MY VOLCANO SV CONTROL, I JUST ORDER HUMP PACK FOR CAR ITSELF AND WAS JUST CURIOUS, THANKS
ganjamatik is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 10:08 PM
  #2
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BATTERY PACK FOR TRANSMITTER?

I dont think so. It needs 8 1.5 volt batteries so its 12 volts, 8 1.2volt rechargables would be 9.6 volts and thats usually when most controllers start blinking red.
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2006, 12:11 AM
  #3
zack221
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Jacksboro, TN
Posts: 696
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BATTERY PACK FOR TRANSMITTER?

they do make transmitter packs ehroof idk if you meant they dont make them or you dont know one that works with our cars
zack221 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2006, 12:19 AM
  #4
giddyuperic
 
giddyuperic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: riverside, CA
Posts: 2,025
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BATTERY PACK FOR TRANSMITTER?

I go to the dollar store or the best place is the 99 cent only store they aways look at me funny when I come in and buy twenty bucks worth of battery's I think it's well worth it and they have name brand batts there.
giddyuperic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2006, 12:43 AM
  #5
Kemo
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 7,071
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BATTERY PACK FOR TRANSMITTER?

Quote:
ORIGINAL: ehroof

I dont think so. It needs 8 1.5 volt batteries so its 12 volts, 8 1.2volt rechargables would be 9.6 volts and thats usually when most controllers start blinking red.

Many people run nimh in their radios. I've got them in right now at 10.8 volts and full battery meter. Thats why they have charging jacks for radios.
Kemo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2006, 12:52 AM
  #6
ganjamatik
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: fresno, CA
Posts: 220
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BATTERY PACK FOR TRANSMITTER?

any 1 know where i might find one suitable for a volcano sv, that woul be the most convenient thing i could think of, i liereally may buy three just to have as backup, i really hate single use batteries
ganjamatik is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2006, 12:55 AM
  #7
Kemo
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 7,071
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BATTERY PACK FOR TRANSMITTER?

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXKYC8&P=ML

and a http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXLJJ0&P=M since i'm not sure what kind of charger you'd need for the radio itself.
Kemo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2006, 01:50 AM
  #8
graymatters
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 33
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BATTERY PACK FOR TRANSMITTER?

have any of you tried using the rechargeable Alkalines? I use some by Pure Energy (you can get them from Sundance Solar). They are 1.5V and seem to be great rechargeable batteries. You can not charge them with a NiMH only charger however (must say specifically for alkaline, but will do NiMH also). I just wonder if anyone else is doing this. Seems like a less expensive alternate to the multicell NiCD packs while still getting the higher voltage rating.
graymatters is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2006, 11:09 AM
  #9
Kemo
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 7,071
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BATTERY PACK FOR TRANSMITTER?

It might have a higher voltage rating, but the charge and battery life does not last nearly as long.
Kemo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2006, 08:29 PM
  #10
mozzzy_2000
 
mozzzy_2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,707
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BATTERY PACK FOR TRANSMITTER?

yes rechargable AA's work really well. Most transmitters use very little power and I can go for several hours on one charge.
mozzzy_2000 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 10:56 AM
  #11
justpassinthru
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Speed, NC
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BATTERY PACK FOR TRANSMITTER?

Great NiMh rechargeables batteries AA/AAA/9V - 900-2500mha http://www.greenbatteries.com I have used them for years.
Quote:
ORIGINAL: graymatters

have any of you tried using the rechargeable Alkalines? I use some by Pure Energy (you can get them from Sundance Solar). They are 1.5V and seem to be great rechargeable batteries. You can not charge them with a NiMH only charger however (must say specifically for alkaline, but will do NiMH also). I just wonder if anyone else is doing this. Seems like a less expensive alternate to the multicell NiCD packs while still getting the higher voltage rating.
justpassinthru is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 11:41 AM
  #12
Kemo
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 7,071
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BATTERY PACK FOR TRANSMITTER?

they'd have to drop their prices before i threw a penny at them. tower is still cheaper to get the venom 2400's.
Kemo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 11:21 AM
  #13
charlieboy
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Kingston, JAMAICA
Posts: 218
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BATTERY PACK FOR TRANSMITTER?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: ehroof

I dont think so. It needs 8 1.5 volt batteries so its 12 volts, 8 1.2volt rechargables would be 9.6 volts and thats usually when most controllers start blinking red.
I removed the battery tray from my radio and measured the voltage of the output terminals, i had fresh alkaline batteries, the O/P was 10.5V. In order to determine the output its not always a simple matter of multiplying the number of batteries by the amt of volts of individual cells, it also depends on how they are connected!!
Anyway, if the output of the batteries in the battery tray is 10.5V and your battery tray can be unplugged and removed then you can use a 9.6V transmitter pack instead, thats what i'm using without any trouble!!
charlieboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 11:26 AM
  #14
zack221
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Jacksboro, TN
Posts: 696
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BATTERY PACK FOR TRANSMITTER?

are you using the original radio?
zack221 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 05:07 PM
  #15
charlieboy
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Kingston, JAMAICA
Posts: 218
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BATTERY PACK FOR TRANSMITTER?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: zack221

are you using the original radio?
Well actually no, i'm not using the original radio, Its a Airtronics MX-3, my original radio broke about a week after i got it!!
charlieboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2006, 02:44 AM
  #16
97talontsi
 
97talontsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SurreyBC, CANADA
Posts: 201
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BATTERY PACK FOR TRANSMITTER?

how do you take the tray out from the bottom?
97talontsi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2006, 12:54 PM
  #17
charlieboy
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Kingston, JAMAICA
Posts: 218
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: BATTERY PACK FOR TRANSMITTER?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: thuglife71

how do you take the tray out from the bottom?

You may need to loosen the screws at the bottom of the radio, when you do you'll be able to just twist the tray out. Most if not all the radios i've seen are of modular construction so you can remove the radio tray. Some trays can be unplugged (they have futaba J style connector) or in other cases you may need to clip the wires because there is no connector.
If you have no connector, you'll need a female J style connector, install it to the wires inside the radio that you have clipped, (its just two wires so its easy) and viola all you need to do is to plug your 9.6V (8 cell) reciever pack

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ge94976.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	14.7 KB
ID:	586607  
charlieboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:44 PM.