Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Receiver wire

Reply
Old 01-10-2007, 08:40 AM
  #1
MiniCwik
Thread Starter
 
MiniCwik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Baltimore, MI
Posts: 1,035
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Receiver wire

Does anyone know how one would go about replacing the wire for the receiver antenna?

Here is what I have found thus far - http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXERH8&P=7 and I am hoping that this will work by soldering/splicing it with what remains inside the receiver box.

Thing is originally I had problems smoothing the wire up into the mast, and snapped a little off of it and now that my mast has snapped I think it would be easiest if possible to just replace the antenna wire all together along with a new mast.

Thank you!
MiniCwik is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 03:49 PM
  #2
ganjamatik
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: fresno, CA
Posts: 220
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Receiver wire

i'm not 2 sure that the wire is specifically antenna wire,you prolly just have to buy the same diameter wire from a local store open it up and sodder it and your good as new
ganjamatik is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 11:59 PM
  #3
Connormon
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 322
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Receiver wire

Masts are cheap, and if your putting the antenna in the mast for the first time then its going to be tough, just put it in there bit by bit. Then after the second ro third time of having to put it in the it is easier.

If the antenna isnt broken, dont replace it, theres no sense.
Connormon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 07:11 AM
  #4
MiniCwik
Thread Starter
 
MiniCwik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Baltimore, MI
Posts: 1,035
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Receiver wire

Thanks

I was able to pull the broken piece of the antenna mast (about a 1/4") out and then re-seat the rest of the mast into the receiver shell. I will leave it like that until either it breaks again (if ever) or if the antenna wire breaks. I found this info on the Futaba website - http://www.futaba-rc.com/faq/service-faq.html#q235 basically saying it is a 22 gauge wire, and while they do not recommend replacing it on your own, if you are good at soldering you can try.

My local hobby shop (of course) advised against that and suggested coming in to order a new receiver box.
MiniCwik is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 12:08 PM
  #5
ganjamatik
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: fresno, CA
Posts: 220
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Receiver wire

its extremely straitforward, i had mine come completeley come off by the base from reciver box so i just soddered the thing back on,works perfectly, only thing is isued original wire since it was still completeley intacts
ganjamatik is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 12:15 PM
  #6
MiniCwik
Thread Starter
 
MiniCwik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Baltimore, MI
Posts: 1,035
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Receiver wire

Thanks ganja! If I start losing reception because mine is shorter I will look at removing and soldering on a new 22 gauge wire (my buds a good electrician, so I know he could solder it well for me).
MiniCwik is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 12:17 PM
  #7
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Receiver wire

if i am not mistaken the leangth of the wire is determined by the frequency, i may be wrong but i am pretty sure that it is true.
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 12:18 PM
  #8
dragon411
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: St Cloud, MN
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Receiver wire


I replace my rx antenna all the time and i have no problems. All you have to do is open the rx case and find where it is soldered on th board and solder the new one in place
dragon411 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 12:25 PM
  #9
MiniCwik
Thread Starter
 
MiniCwik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Baltimore, MI
Posts: 1,035
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Receiver wire

Yeah, ehroof you are correct ... here is what Futaba FAQ's say:

"Part of my FM receiver antenna ripped off. Can I solder a new piece onto it?
While we can not recommend that anyone change their receiver wire, as this can cause serious problems such as loss of reception and major interference issues, and also void any warranty that you may have on your radio system.

If you are very good with a soldering iron, and safety consideration (do a COMPLETE and thorough ground check, after for safety purposes) and the warranty are not a issue, you would want to look for 22 gauge wire, and the length will be:

approximately 19 1/2" for surface
approximately 39 1/2" for Air

BUT, our recommendation is to send the receiver into our Service Center to be repaired."
MiniCwik is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 12:26 PM
  #10
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Receiver wire

cool, i thought so
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 12:49 PM
  #11
shadow
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: phx, AZ
Posts: 14
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Receiver wire

LIKE I SAID THE ONLY THING MATERS IS HOW LONG IT IS. IF FACTORY GAVE U A RECEVER WIRE IS... LETS SAY .... 3FT LONG U FIND SOME THIN ANTENA WIRE FROM RADIO SHACK ANY ELEC SHOP. IT IS BAD THE SHORT-N YOUR WIRE JUST BECOUSE ITS TOO LONG.
shadow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 12:51 PM
  #12
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Receiver wire

?
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 12:53 PM
  #13
MiniCwik
Thread Starter
 
MiniCwik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Baltimore, MI
Posts: 1,035
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Receiver wire

I second that ... huh?

Are you saying the gauge of the wire does not matter?
MiniCwik is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 04:18 PM
  #14
Connormon
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 322
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Receiver wire

I third the motion.

If you could please not type in all caps, and spell out your words, it might make it easier to make more sense of what you are saying.

(Not trying to be rude, but i think we would all appreciate it.)

Connor
Connormon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:23 AM.