Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

Reply
Old 02-24-2008, 04:18 PM
  #776
pede_187
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bridgewater, NJ
Posts: 3,961
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

Here are a few but you will want to stick with a single speed

http://youtube.com/watch?v=xe_UqM2EkHc
http://youtube.com/watch?v=6LYMflVHOls
pede_187 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 12:49 PM
  #777
nitrozach54
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Colchester, VT
Posts: 478
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

will this work with the sv?

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXBTB0&P=M
nitrozach54 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 06:48 PM
  #778
racemaxx24
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Afton, TN
Posts: 990
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

It might. You'll have to measure the original tank, ant the new one to see if it will fit.
racemaxx24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 09:17 AM
  #779
smokehouse
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Junction City, AR
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

My Volcano sv stripped a spur gear and while replacing it I noticed that I cant slide the engine over enough to get a good mesh of the gears whithout the flywheel hitting the caliper on the brakes, I shimmed up under the engine to raise it up so I could mesh the gears. Has anyone else found this problem, and if so what was your solution.
smokehouse is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 10:53 AM
  #780
kuppler
 
kuppler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 2,909
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread


Quote:
ORIGINAL: smokehouse

My Volcano sv stripped a spur gear and while replacing it I noticed that I cant slide the engine over enough to get a good mesh of the gears whithout the flywheel hitting the caliper on the brakes, I shimmed up under the engine to raise it up so I could mesh the gears. Has anyone else found this problem, and if so what was your solution.
Wow... I have never had this problem....I have taken out my motor more times then i can think... and i have taken my spur geat out at least a dozen times or more....
and i have always lined them back up just fine.......
maybe you have something in the wrong spot.. or not all the way in a spot....
take some pics and post... maybe we can see something your not seeing...
kuppler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 01:18 AM
  #781
Redharris
 
Redharris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Panorama, CA
Posts: 2,133
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

Quote:
ORIGINAL: smokehouse

My Volcano sv stripped a spur gear and while replacing it I noticed that I cant slide the engine over enough to get a good mesh of the gears whithout the flywheel hitting the caliper on the brakes, I shimmed up under the engine to raise it up so I could mesh the gears. Has anyone else found this problem, and if so what was your solution.
Yes. I have had that Exact same problem.
Sometimes you have to adjust the Screws that hold on the brakes. Screw them in as far as you can and still have the breaks work without binding.
Sometimes the SLOTS that the Engine Mount screws slide in get enlarged. The Engine can actually Twist as well as slide back n forth.
You just have to fiddle with those two Variables (Brake mount screws, and Twisty engine mount) and you will get it so that it doesnt Rub.

Even under the Best circumstances, There is not a LOT of room down there.
Redharris is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 09:49 AM
  #782
SIRCC
 
SIRCC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: STATEN ISLANDNY
Posts: 1,020
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

[img][/img]I HAD BROKEN BRAKE PADS, INSTALLED HPI CERAMIC DISC. NOW HAVE A PROBLEM WITH APPLYING THE BRAKE.
SIRCC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 10:34 AM
  #783
smokehouse
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Junction City, AR
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

Thanks for the info. have'nt ran the truck much since replacing spur gear, but now at least the gears mesh pretty good. also would like to find an early ford bronco body for it. Does anyone know where I might find one? Thanks for your help.
smokehouse is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 01:13 PM
  #784
numskull223
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Clemson, SC
Posts: 72
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

Hi,
I just bought a Volcano SV, with a single speed tranny. I went ahead and bought the head, tuned pipe, and 2 speed tranny with clutch bell. I put all that on and now its slower. It will not get up to spped enough to change gears. It twice as fast with the singel speed on it. I thought the clutch was slipping so I took the .18 engine off my tornado BB and put it on my volcano, and it still does the same thing. ITS SLOW!! Is there something Im missing. Thanks
numskull223 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 01:22 PM
  #785
rclynx
 
rclynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 3,965
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

gear ratio [&:] stay with the single speed or get a 13/18 tooth bell set up. That being said second gear is way over rated and just something else to break [&o]
rclynx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 02:26 PM
  #786
ROBSON CWB
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Langley, BC, CANADA
Posts: 21
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

I was runnin my Volcano when it decided to just rev like crazy and not go anywhere. Kinda like a clutch slippin, but I shut it off and started it again later and it drove fine. Then it happened again when I was bashin. Is it the clutch? I have only run it for 10times or even less, how can the clutch be gone already!
ROBSON CWB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 02:35 PM
  #787
Macanan
 
Macanan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New Tazewell, TN
Posts: 1,348
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

Check the grub screws holding on the Drive cups where your dogbones set in, they come loose if you dont add lock tite to it
Macanan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 03:17 PM
  #788
MadMatt2024
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dolgeville, NY
Posts: 36
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

I think there is something that adjusts when it shifts.
MadMatt2024 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 05:46 PM
  #789
Baine$
 
Baine$'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Salmon Arm, BC, CANADA
Posts: 206
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

hey guys can you look at this pic for me, im sending mymotor back to redcat in exchange for the sh .18 and need to strip it
is there any diagrams?

Baine$ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 05:48 PM
  #790
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

take the clip off then take the nut off, hold the flywheel and use a socket to take that nut off (the one that the clip was on) then you just work the flywheel off, keep the spacer behind the flywheel too.

that other part looks like a brass bushing, i dont know where that would have come off the engine.
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 09:31 PM
  #791
Redharris
 
Redharris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Panorama, CA
Posts: 2,133
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

I dont have that brass Bushing on MY Volcano.....
Redharris is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2008, 10:31 PM
  #792
littleE8bud3
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: mt morris, MI
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

Not sure if this ? goes here but im wondering whats the biggest motor that can go on the volcano 1/10 scale trucks ?
littleE8bud3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2008, 11:20 PM
  #793
pede_187
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bridgewater, NJ
Posts: 3,961
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread


Quote:
ORIGINAL: littleE8bud3

Not sure if this ? goes here but im wondering whats the biggest motor that can go on the volcano 1/10 scale trucks ?
Without mods........an OS .18 but with mods.........no idea. RCDanny put a .21 in it with some mods
pede_187 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 11:04 AM
  #794
racemaxx24
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Afton, TN
Posts: 990
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

How would u put a .21 in a little truck. The block would be to big.[]
racemaxx24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 11:13 AM
  #795
Macanan
 
Macanan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New Tazewell, TN
Posts: 1,348
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

You would have to redrill holes for the motor to set in, there is a few on here that has done this.
Macanan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 11:13 AM
  #796
jbone03
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: APO, AE
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

Planning on changing out my transmitter and reciever on my Volcano. Now here's the question? Can I use a 3 channel set if it only requires 2? It wont hurt any thing right? I figured I could use the third channel as On/Off for LED lights.
jbone03 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 11:14 AM
  #797
racemaxx24
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Afton, TN
Posts: 990
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

Have any links to it. I would like to see that.
racemaxx24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 11:15 AM
  #798
racemaxx24
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Afton, TN
Posts: 990
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

It shouldn't. The third channel is usually for reverse or something like that.
racemaxx24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 12:09 PM
  #799
Macanan
 
Macanan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New Tazewell, TN
Posts: 1,348
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread


Quote:
ORIGINAL: overdrivest

Have any links to it. I would like to see that.
Here is a video of one in a 1/10 buggy ATOMIC WARHEAD same thing as the tornado bb http://youtube.com/watch?v=fcIn-5gsW6I

here is the thread that it was talked about

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_6907353/tm.htm
Macanan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 01:22 PM
  #800
racemaxx24
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Afton, TN
Posts: 990
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

What would u have to mode to do that. A 1/10 buggie with a .28 seems like it would be cool. I figured it would just rip the drivetrain apart.
racemaxx24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:21 PM.