Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

Reply
Old 04-26-2008, 12:43 PM
  #1101
rclynx
 
rclynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 3,965
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

Question for you pro wrench guys out there..........it should be pretty easy. What was the first engine to come out with more horse power than CID and it wasn't a 327 Chevy [)]

Its almost physically impossible with the fuel and the 2 cycle engine to turn those kind of R's................There are very few that turn over 40,000 [&o]
rclynx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2008, 01:37 PM
  #1102
Boxhead from MN
 
Boxhead from MN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brooten, MN
Posts: 97
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

283 sbc?
Boxhead from MN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2008, 03:23 PM
  #1103
rclynx
 
rclynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 3,965
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

It was a formula S 275HP 273cid, I think it was 1966 or 7 on the only Dyno in the Bay Area up in San Francisco there was 21 of us from the NHRA the took the challenge from the Cheve guys (I was a Cheve guy then) The 350 horse 327 cid cheve put out a little over 300 HP at 5600 RPM the darn little Dodge put out 276 Horse Power at 6800 RPM < thats right that was a screamer. Lot of fun back in those days [)]
rclynx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2008, 05:08 PM
  #1104
ugly duck
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Posts: 357
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

My dad had one 'o those in his '65 Barracuda.
ugly duck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2008, 06:18 PM
  #1105
Gelo_USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: , NJ
Posts: 104
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

whats up guys??
okk I went through break in car is tuned properly and all..but today I was running on grass and dirt... how do u guys clean it?? take it apart or just clea what u can reach.... I knw air filter has to be washed the fuel system drained and after run oil on the motor...but is tht only whats needed??
Gelo_USA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2008, 06:59 PM
  #1106
perhamrocks
 
perhamrocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Perham, MN
Posts: 553
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

My hobby shop dealer likes to spray his cars down with wd-40 then blow it off with an air compresor, i haven't tried it yet because i haven't got it too overly dirty, and becuase i haven't run in a little while.
perhamrocks is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2008, 07:49 PM
  #1107
ugly duck
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Posts: 357
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

WD-40 is nice and cheap if you buy it in the gallon size and spray it with a squeeze bottle, but I understand it makes some plastic parts brittle. The mix I've read about and have yet to try is 2 parts denatured alcohol to 1 part simple green, and a capful of WD-40.
ugly duck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 04:40 PM
  #1108
Gelo_USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: , NJ
Posts: 104
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

steering servo saver BROKEN!! havent even hit anything yet[:@] where can I get it FAST?? is there any alluminum replacement?? thanks guys
and also a steering bellcrank
Gelo_USA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 05:08 PM
  #1109
Gelo_USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: , NJ
Posts: 104
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

and how do I replace it.. I cant remove it... I was going to try to fix it until I get new parts....
Gelo_USA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 05:09 PM
  #1110
Redcat Nick
 
Redcat Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 493
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

How is it broken and where is it broken?
Redcat Nick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 05:25 PM
  #1111
Gelo_USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: , NJ
Posts: 104
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

ok problem is not a broken servo saver.. its pretty worned out so I still would like to knw where to get them...
problem is the linkage tht goes to both front wheels hit the chassis and it makes it hard on the servo saver to turn the wheel.. its wearing it out FAST... when front suspension is about half inch pushed in (LOWER) I have no problem but I cant adjust it to go lower...
any Ideas or fixes? if any of u have the same problem...
Gelo_USA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 05:41 PM
  #1112
Gelo_USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: , NJ
Posts: 104
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

I will take it out see it turns when running cause stopped it just wont turn unless I push the suspension lower
I will post pics showing better whats happening
Gelo_USA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2008, 09:24 AM
  #1113
a4d2a0m
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Renfrew, ON, CANADA
Posts: 73
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

I had a similar problem, the steering linkages rub on the frame not allowing the tires to turn all the way from the friction when the suspension is in full extension. You need to either tighten the silver threded disc on the saver, or replace the saver all togeher. I changed mine and it made a helluva difference.
a4d2a0m is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2008, 04:43 PM
  #1114
Gelo_USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: , NJ
Posts: 104
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

also... my shocks are leaking... am I unlucky or what? they were open I dnt knw why.. I cleaned them out and put them together again... they are about half filled with oil... what oil should I use on it?? and how much oil... thanks
Gelo_USA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2008, 04:57 PM
  #1115
racemaxx24
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Afton, TN
Posts: 990
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

I believe they are supposed to be full and they have diffrent weight shock oils for your prefrence. Also, if the tops came of during the time u were driving, they shafts and seals could be damaged which means u will need new shocks.[&o][X(] Don't give up. I was about to with my t-maxx but that is what upgrades are for. They make it better
racemaxx24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2008, 06:21 PM
  #1116
Gelo_USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: , NJ
Posts: 104
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

ok more problems.. man redcat sucks or I am REALLY unlucky.. I m starting to regret buying tht truck..
today I was out in the backyard.. out of nowhere the car went full throtle and slammed on a concrete wall( NEW BATTERIES... I HAVE A FAIL SAFE) I still dnt knw what happened.. the car flipped over the antenna tubing fell off and there it goes my antenna too.... the wheel shreded the antenna before I could cut shut off the engine... at least truck is very resistant cause I slammed the wall pretty HARD and I only got a bent dog bone.. the rest is all FINE I think.. I will clean it and look more careful for broken parts but I think everything is alright...
my question is... do u guys cut the antenna to the size of the tube or u just leave it inside the radio box... and can I replace it with a wire on the same gage and lenght?? if so what is the length and gauge of it cause mine is trashed right now........
Gelo_USA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2008, 06:30 PM
  #1117
racemaxx24
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Afton, TN
Posts: 990
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

U will need a new reciever now. And never cut the antena
racemaxx24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2008, 07:03 PM
  #1118
kutzie1793
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wind Gap, PA
Posts: 39
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

heyy wut types of glowplugs can i use on the volcano sv?? and wheres the cheapest place i can i get a new pullstart for it??
kutzie1793 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2008, 07:06 PM
  #1119
racemaxx24
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Afton, TN
Posts: 990
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

The o.s. number 8 would be good and try clermont. They would probably be the best...
racemaxx24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2008, 08:26 PM
  #1120
Gelo_USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: , NJ
Posts: 104
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

I use OS #A3 got them from tower hobbies very cheap.....


ok I got the dog bone straight so I can use it until I get the new ones... I jst need a receiver.. I might take this chance to upgrade I didnt like the stock anyways... for now I will run the stock I have... I checked I lost 3 to 4 inches of the antenna... I think I should be ok until I get a new receiver...
Gelo_USA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2008, 08:52 PM
  #1121
bkfamily1
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: North Canton, OH
Posts: 741
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

Regarding glow plug choices, check out the following from OS.

[link=http://www.osengines.com/accys/glowplugs.html]http://www.osengines.com/accys/glowplugs.html[/link]

Thanks, Eddie (HimotoRacingUSA fka ehroof) for pointing me to that originally.

Stay away from the P plugs (meant for turbo heads) and long reach plugs (meant for Traxxas engines). I use the A3 also and like it. It is also one of the most commonly used plugs and as a result very low cost relatively speaking.

*added*

There is also some discussion of glow plugs in this thread a couple pages back.
bkfamily1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2008, 05:38 AM
  #1122
RCToysNh
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: northwood, NH
Posts: 354
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

The VX came with two versions.
Which pull start do you need, VX 1" or 1.25" starter ?
RCToysNh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2008, 05:16 PM
  #1123
Gelo_USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: , NJ
Posts: 104
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

ok... didnt give up YET!! lol.. just got some silicone oil for the shocks and a new futaba rx tx and 2 s3003 servos... will order some dogbones tonight.... wish me luck CAUSE I REALLY NEED IT lol...
Gelo_USA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2008, 10:34 PM
  #1124
Gelo_USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: , NJ
Posts: 104
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

okk i got the radio isntalled but couldnt replace the steering servo... the horn on it wont fit the futaba servo....
what part number for the dog bones connecting gear box to wheels???

if anyone upgraded the steering servo... What servo did u guys use??
Gelo_USA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 05:29 AM
  #1125
FlyinGN
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cinnaminson, NJ
Posts: 645
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Volcano Thread

You have to get a servo arm that fits a Futaba. There are a few different types accordinging to the servo manufactures. Different amount of splines..


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Gelo_USA

okk i got the radio isntalled but couldnt replace the steering servo... the horn on it wont fit the futaba servo....
what part number for the dog bones connecting gear box to wheels???

if anyone upgraded the steering servo... What servo did u guys use??
FlyinGN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:51 AM.