Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Redcat Racing Tornado Thread

Reply
Old 09-19-2007, 08:50 PM
  #1076
newdoughboy
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Burlington, ON, CANADA
Posts: 71
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Tornado Thread

Well, i've only seen plastic ones from redcat and thanks for the glow plug comment
newdoughboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 01:28 AM
  #1077
hibityhupla
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: westby, MT
Posts: 392
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Tornado Thread

Any idea where i can get a longer servo arm? I got the traxxas 3.3 in my on-road car but it has a slide carb instead of rotory. The only way I can think to make it work is to extend the servo top and put a different linkage on it. I made one out of a bunch of servo tops I cut up but I was wondering if they make such a thing or if I'm best off making my own.
hibityhupla is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 05:46 AM
  #1078
newdoughboy
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Burlington, ON, CANADA
Posts: 71
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Tornado Thread

http://cgi.ebay.ca/Yeah-Racing-SER-0...QQcmdZViewItem

is this long enough? if not check out rest of dinball's stuff on ebay
newdoughboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 07:59 AM
  #1079
rclynx
 
rclynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 3,965
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Tornado Thread

Quote:
Any idea where i can get a longer servo arm? I got the traxxas 3.3 in my on-road car but it has a slide carb instead of rotory. The only way I can think to make it work is to extend the servo top and put a different linkage on it. I made one out of a bunch of servo tops I cut up but I was wondering if they make such a thing or if I'm best off making my own.
Just a thought that hasn't been mentioned, have you changed the angle of the carb? you can even revers it (turn it 190 degrees) if you like[&o]
rclynx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 10:37 AM
  #1080
Redcat Nick
 
Redcat Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 493
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Tornado Thread

We have aluminum steering bell crank and servo saver but it is for the 1/8 scales.
Redcat Nick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 02:26 PM
  #1081
hibityhupla
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: westby, MT
Posts: 392
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Tornado Thread

I moved the ball end connection on the carb towards the rear of the engine. It's still a good reach. The 1 7/8" arm would work but I need the little arm coming off the side for the brakes.
hibityhupla is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 02:28 PM
  #1082
hibityhupla
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: westby, MT
Posts: 392
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Tornado Thread


Quote:
ORIGINAL: newdoughboy

http://cgi.ebay.ca/Yeah-Racing-SER-0...QQcmdZViewItem

is this long enough? if not check out rest of dinball's stuff on ebay
That one is long enough but it need to look like an L so i can still connect my brakes.
hibityhupla is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 04:15 PM
  #1083
rc_nooby
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: brighton, MI
Posts: 41
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Tornado Thread

what are the factory settings for the redcat shockwave/tornado.
rc_nooby is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 06:29 PM
  #1084
hibityhupla
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: westby, MT
Posts: 392
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Tornado Thread

carb open 1-1.5mm, fuel needle 2.5-3 turns out
hibityhupla is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 12:12 AM
  #1085
nelsonrc
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 31
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Tornado Thread

Hello Redcat fans I was have about $400.00 in parts and a used Tornado single speed and a new in box Tornado single speed and dont have time for them so Id like to sell them off to some one that can use them. Anyone interested e-mail me dannycbrvegas@yahoo.com. Id like to get $350 for all of it.
nelsonrc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 01:16 AM
  #1086
tyhodge07
 
tyhodge07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 598
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Tornado Thread

ur post is going to get deleted.. plus 350 u prolly wont get, but thats why theres a classifieds, to post stuff for sale
tyhodge07 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 04:30 PM
  #1087
hibityhupla
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: westby, MT
Posts: 392
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Tornado Thread

I think I figured out how to make my stock servos and tops work. I bought a sheet of carbon fiber and I'm just going to cut a new top plate. I figure I can move the throttle servo mounting forward to where I need it. My only question is do I need anything special to cut it or will a jig saw with a fine blade work?
hibityhupla is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 09:00 PM
  #1088
newdoughboy
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Burlington, ON, CANADA
Posts: 71
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Tornado Thread

Where did you buy a sheet of Carbon Fiber? I looked everywhere and couldn't find any near by. Once successful, could you tell me what you used to cut it?
newdoughboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 11:13 PM
  #1089
hibityhupla
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: westby, MT
Posts: 392
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Tornado Thread

Carbon Fiber Graphite Woven Sheet Panel 9"x12"x2.0mm

Cut and paste at ebay. cost around $40. If out try "carbon fiber sheet" under toys and hobbies.
hibityhupla is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 05:42 PM
  #1090
hibityhupla
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: westby, MT
Posts: 392
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Tornado Thread

Any idea's on what to cut carbon fiber with?
hibityhupla is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 07:23 PM
  #1091
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Tornado Thread

dremel and a cutting wheel, rotozip with tile blade in it.
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 07:24 PM
  #1092
daveschutt
 
daveschutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Orchard Park, NY
Posts: 116
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Tornado Thread

Before you buy a new engine check this out! it really works!!!

[link]http://www.jfnorris.com/modules.php?name=Fourms&file=viewtopic&p=1216[/link]
daveschutt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 07:27 PM
  #1093
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Tornado Thread

dead link bro
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 05:34 AM
  #1094
newdoughboy
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Burlington, ON, CANADA
Posts: 71
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Tornado Thread

I know, SMOOTH, I guess I will have to go ahead and buy an new engine.

Just Kidding, I am on such a low budget and I've alread bought plenty this month
newdoughboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 08:33 AM
  #1095
kegger420
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: youngstown, OH
Posts: 28
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Tornado Thread


Quote:
ORIGINAL: kegger420

Here's a tech question for my redcat tornado XL.. was running it today and all of a sudden i noticed no brakes! ok so stopped it and found that the brakes wont engage and neither will the rear drivetrain as the rears wont spin. the fronts are all good.. what can this be?
ok, i fixed this prioblem, but now the car seems to run with no ballz...i leaned it to where it wold just about stall when i romped on the throttle, and made it so rich it sounded like a hooka at a coffee shop.. could it be that i didnt space the the coupler by the tranny that turns the rear dogbone and brake disc? any thoughts?
kegger420 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 12:47 PM
  #1096
BBOY619
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: \"DAYGO\", CA
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Tornado Thread

Can a new transmission be put on the tornado XL?
BBOY619 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 12:50 PM
  #1097
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Tornado Thread

what trans would you want to put?
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 11:11 PM
  #1098
BBOY619
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: \"DAYGO\", CA
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Tornado Thread

HI All, I bought a Tornado XL on the internet recently and It should be in like tomorrow or Tuesday. I know it is a "RTR," but I'm sure we all know that stock settings on just about everything are usually not the optimum settings. So my question is that if anyone has any suggestions about tuning it a little better than out of the box, to get better speed/acceleration. Also the transmission, can it be upgraded to a 2 speed like the one on the BB?
BBOY619 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2007, 01:19 AM
  #1099
spartan8892
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: pacifica, CA
Posts: 40
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Tornado Thread

ok i have an odd question. when pulling my pullstart and my tornado it slips a lot after i start the engine and try starting it again after it dies the pullstart never slips is this just my car or does ur guys do this to btw i run traccas 20% if that helps thanks
spartan8892 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2007, 05:39 AM
  #1100
rclynx
 
rclynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 3,965
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Redcat Racing Tornado Thread

That is either a dirty OWB (most of the time) or the OWB is going bad. All it takes is a very small amount of grit to make it slip and I'm talking grit you can't even see[&o]
rclynx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:06 AM.