Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

idle screw setting

Reply
Old 02-02-2007, 01:17 AM
  #1
slicrick
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: milpitas, CA
Posts: 251
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default idle screw setting

hello so when you have the air filter off looking into the carb,and turning the idle screw,can you see the carb opening or closing,cuz when i do it ,i see no movement ????and should you do this while running????
slicrick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 01:41 AM
  #2
AllAboutFunHobbies
 
AllAboutFunHobbies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 3,096
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: idle screw setting

When you look down the barrel of the carb you should be able to see the opening getting bigger when you screw the idle screw in and smaller when you screw it out. set the screw so the carb has about a 1mm hole(about the size of the tip of a tooth pick) that would be your starting point. Use the picture below as a guide for restting your carb to a standard setting to start tuning your engine.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Us55384.jpg
Views:	971
Size:	34.7 KB
ID:	611933  
AllAboutFunHobbies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 02:37 AM
  #3
giddyuperic
 
giddyuperic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: riverside, CA
Posts: 2,025
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: idle screw setting

Here is some pictures and make sure to turn your idle trim all the way down and do all adjustments with the motor at running temp. And make a adj then drive the car around a couple of times and see where it's at. I was told to make adj like you are looking at a clock and you want to make adj in one hour adj at a time you know like from 1clock to 2 clock jsut little bit at a time. Hope it helps. Eric
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig13685.jpg
Views:	380
Size:	129.1 KB
ID:	611937   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ni23973.jpg
Views:	304
Size:	131.8 KB
ID:	611938   Click image for larger version

Name:	Yd82821.jpg
Views:	410
Size:	131.0 KB
ID:	611939   Click image for larger version

Name:	Dw64943.jpg
Views:	328
Size:	130.5 KB
ID:	611940  
giddyuperic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 07:31 AM
  #4
MiniCwik
 
MiniCwik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Baltimore, MI
Posts: 1,035
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: idle screw setting

You definitely need to drive it around a little for it to adjust/move after making small incremental adjustments.
MiniCwik is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 07:42 AM
  #5
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: idle screw setting

there should be movement, you need to have the car on and the transmitter on. the carb should be opening and closing.
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 07:46 AM
  #6
MiniCwik
 
MiniCwik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Baltimore, MI
Posts: 1,035
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: idle screw setting

Thanks ehroof, that was it (you jogged my memory) you need to have the car and transmitter on to see it move.
MiniCwik is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 08:12 AM
  #7
mozzzy_2000
 
mozzzy_2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,707
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: idle screw setting

NO ONE MENTIONS THIS BUT FOR GODS SAKE DO NOT TAKE THE AIRFILTER OFF WHEN THE ENGINE IS RUNNING!!!!!!!!
mozzzy_2000 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 11:22 AM
  #8
rclynx
 
rclynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 3,965
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: idle screw setting

You live in a dust bowl over there mozzzy LOL
rclynx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2007, 09:40 PM
  #9
ichbinanthrax
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Antioch, CA
Posts: 121
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: idle screw setting

This is what my carb looks like on my tornado

ichbinanthrax is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 09:02 AM
  #10
123michael
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: wigan, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 911
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: idle screw setting

i kno omg u boy need to learn big time because...... well u should kno tha at least evan i did when i first started!!so u need to go to model shop and ask will will they sort it all out for you. ok man!!! LOL LOL HAAAAA
123michael is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 09:04 AM
  #11
123michael
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: wigan, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 911
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: idle screw setting

right man you wont see a lot of movment just turn until its 1 mm and the engiene sounds idle ok!!
123michael is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 07:29 PM
  #12
pito553
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 21
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: idle screw setting

I'm having a lot of trouble idling my Volcano SV, I have a 1mm opening and as soon as I run the ngine it goes crazy, as if I was going all the way in the throttle, it wont stop unless I stop the engine. This happened while trying to break-in my SV. I am a total noob at this, any help or suggestions?

Thanks in advance.
pito553 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 09:03 PM
  #13
Chubbysdad
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 2,824
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: idle screw setting

turn on your transmitter, then the receiver in the car, and check the movements of the servo.
Chubbysdad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 09:25 PM
  #14
pito553
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 21
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: idle screw setting

Yes, I do it in that sequence and every aspect of the electric system is fine, I think the problem is in the 3 screws for tuning. I dont know how to tune it and the instructions of the car dont come with tuning instructions. =S
pito553 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 09:41 PM
  #15
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: idle screw setting

ok bro, put the high needle 2 1/2 out from closed, the low needle flush with the collar and have the idle screw set so the carb has a 1mm opening, this will get you going!!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Rp43430.jpg
Views:	356
Size:	90.5 KB
ID:	900455  
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 09:43 PM
  #16
webbl19
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 717
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: idle screw setting

I have always liked those green arrows...lol
webbl19 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 09:57 PM
  #17
pito553
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 21
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: idle screw setting

Ok, I turn on the controller, then receiver, then make sure the throttle is closed, start and it shoots out.
whats worng?
pito553 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 09:59 PM
  #18
webbl19
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 717
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: idle screw setting

your settings are just like posted above? do your servos move when you pull the trigger and turn the wheel when the car is off?
webbl19 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 10:03 PM
  #19
pito553
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 21
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: idle screw setting

Yes, they do perfectly.
pito553 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 10:06 PM
  #20
webbl19
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 717
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: idle screw setting

Well buddy i got no more ideas. If your carb is only open 1mm if should not take off.
webbl19 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 10:11 PM
  #21
pito553
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 21
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: idle screw setting

Allright I guess I'll take it to the shop.=S
How may I send you a pic so that you see my setup and see if you notice something wrong, even though the Carb is only 1mm, the screw is all the way out? anything wrong with this?
pito553 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 10:17 PM
  #22
webbl19
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 717
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: idle screw setting

not sure about the idle screw...on my post hit the reply button and post some pcs. the guys that acctually know what they are talking about would probably like a video if possible (i just pretend i know what i am talking about)
webbl19 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 10:40 PM
  #23
pito553
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 21
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: idle screw setting

here you go, btw i think the throttle is not going allt he way back, can you check the spring thing??plz


pito553 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 10:47 PM
  #24
webbl19
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 717
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: idle screw setting

it all looks ok to me, is the end of the linkage getting stuck on the support for the rear shock tower? i had to bend mine up cause it would always hit which would cause the throttle to stay open.
webbl19 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 10:48 PM
  #25
webbl19
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 717
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: idle screw setting

going to have to leave it up to everyone else, i need to go to bed. have to go look at houses tomorrow, im jumping into the housing market...YAY!!!
webbl19 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:28 AM.