Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 75

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Elmira, NY
    Posts
    134
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Got it running again but....

    I got my Xp running but it wont stay running.I went bavck and redid all the stuff you guys said and it started right up.When I start it up i have to hold the brake or it takes off on me.It sounds like it keeps building up speed the longer it runs and once I release the brake it shuts off.I also have to prime it everytime for it to start. So I took video of it to maybe help to see if anyone can see whats wrong with.The first video is of the car running and the second video is of the throttle working.I beleave the problem is in the throttle somewhere but im not sure.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nDrPolUBv90

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GHZaJUJjCOk
    Torando XP

  2. #2
    bluecaka69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    bILLINGS, MT
    Posts
    2,169
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Got it running again but....

    from the looks of video you have brake linkage in the wrong spot and the piece of tubing need to be moved see pictures for correct placement


    Bodies By Blue-Airbrushes Bring Out The Artist In All Of Us!!
    All About Fun Hobbies

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Elmira, NY
    Posts
    134
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Got it running again but....

    ok I changed that.Thanks for the pictures i couldnt find them anywhere and i wasnt sure if it was the same hook-up on the other cars.
    Torando XP

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    howard beach, NY
    Posts
    16,490
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Got it running again but....

    you look like you have no spring on it, look at the first picture blue posted.
    125 characters and 2 lines is not enough to list my RC obsession!!!

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Elmira, NY
    Posts
    134
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Got it running again but....

    where would the spring be located?
    Torando XP

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Elmira, NY
    Posts
    134
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Got it running again but....

    I just tried it and it does the same thing
    Torando XP

  7. #7
    MiniCwik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    New Baltimore, MI
    Posts
    1,035
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Got it running again but....

    So you put the fuel tubing on the other side of the brake lever, right?

    Also, look down into your carb when you hit the brake, does it close the opening all the way? If so ... you need to adjust your idle screw to stop it from closing the 1mm opening that you should have at idle.
    Nitro Trk - Himoto Eldorada 1:10 4WD (w/bling)
    EP Helis - T-Rex 500 CF (401/9257) & 450 SE V2 (Scorpion -8V2/401/9257)

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    howard beach, NY
    Posts
    16,490
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Got it running again but....

    post a picture of your linkage, the spring goes behind the linkage of the servo horn, before the back collar nut.
    125 characters and 2 lines is not enough to list my RC obsession!!!

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Elmira, NY
    Posts
    134
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Got it running again but....

    sorry about the picture being blurry I hope this helps
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Us52821.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	63.2 KB 
ID:	645308  
    Torando XP

  10. #10
    MiniCwik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    New Baltimore, MI
    Posts
    1,035
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Got it running again but....

    Your servo horn is too far forward ... it looks damn near wide open.

    If you look into the carb opening, how open is it?

    Mine sits a little back, compared to yours being forward like that. Refer to the pics above for placement. Unscrew the screw in the middle of the horn and turn it back and put it back on and tighten it back down. See if that helps.
    Nitro Trk - Himoto Eldorada 1:10 4WD (w/bling)
    EP Helis - T-Rex 500 CF (401/9257) & 450 SE V2 (Scorpion -8V2/401/9257)

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    howard beach, NY
    Posts
    16,490
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Got it running again but....

    it may be the trim on the radio too, turn that down and see if that helps you out. there should be a 1mm gap on the carb opening when at idle and when you hit the brakes.
    125 characters and 2 lines is not enough to list my RC obsession!!!

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Kenosha, WI
    Posts
    416
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Got it running again but....

    I had the same problem with my sons XL. It developed a severe air leak on the fuel tank and would only run for a second or two before it died. Still have to order one from Clermont this week.

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Elmira, NY
    Posts
    134
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Got it running again but....

    I fixed the servo Horn that was wrong.But it still does the same thing.It seems like its not getting fuel because it will start right when I prime it.Is there anything I can check if there is something wrong with the fuel system?
    Torando XP

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Clermont, FL
    Posts
    2,824
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Got it running again but....

    Check your fuel tank. Blow into the tupe and see if it is plugged.
    Cen truggy, Bigfoot 1/5th, Cen buggy, Mg16, Redcat Earthquake, Redcat Drifter

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Elmira, NY
    Posts
    134
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Got it running again but....

    I did that and Blew into both lines and theyre all good
    Torando XP

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Lower Huttwellington, NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    35
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Got it running again but....

    i used to have this problem, it was that i had the linkages too tight on the servo horn. i loosened it up and it was sweet after i did a clutch sping change

  17. #17
    MiniCwik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    New Baltimore, MI
    Posts
    1,035
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Got it running again but....

    Have you checked your clutch spring? Make sure it's not snapped.

    Have you checked your glow plug? Make sure it stays glowing a bright orange, my stock one fizzled out rather quickly.

    So what's going on with your carb opening when you hit the brakes?

    Does the carb opening close?
    Nitro Trk - Himoto Eldorada 1:10 4WD (w/bling)
    EP Helis - T-Rex 500 CF (401/9257) & 450 SE V2 (Scorpion -8V2/401/9257)

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Elmira, NY
    Posts
    134
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Got it running again but....

    Yeah I fixed the crab opening thats fine now it just wont stay running
    Torando XP

  19. #19
    MiniCwik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    New Baltimore, MI
    Posts
    1,035
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Got it running again but....

    Okay, what about your clutch spring?

    Can you start it off of the ground and keep it running with the wheels off of the ground? Even when hitting the brake?
    Nitro Trk - Himoto Eldorada 1:10 4WD (w/bling)
    EP Helis - T-Rex 500 CF (401/9257) & 450 SE V2 (Scorpion -8V2/401/9257)

  20. #20

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Elmira, NY
    Posts
    134
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Got it running again but....

    No its starts and runs for maybe 15 seconds then shuts off.But when it is running the wheels are going and i have the brake on
    Torando XP

  21. #21

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    howard beach, NY
    Posts
    16,490
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Got it running again but....

    the brake needs to be adjusted, you need to turn the knob at the end of the throttle linkage to tighten the grip on the brakes. You said you checked the fuel lines, did you blow in the one that connects to the exhaust and see if it flows freely from the fuel supply hose, you have to disconnect it from the carb, there should be little resistance.
    125 characters and 2 lines is not enough to list my RC obsession!!!

  22. #22

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Elmira, NY
    Posts
    134
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Got it running again but....

    Yeah I took both lines off and blew into them and there good and i took the fuel tank out and blew into where the lines hook up and thats good.It seems like it only runs untill the it burns the fuel i used to prime it with.Should I use more fuel to prime so that it runs long enough for the fuel from the tank to get to it?
    Torando XP

  23. #23

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    howard beach, NY
    Posts
    16,490
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Got it running again but....

    no, once it starts to run that should be enough to get it going. maybe the needle is clogged, unscrew the high needle and see if something is clogged. I know i said it before but make sure your at 2 1/2 on the high needle and flush with the low needle. Do you have a temp gun? Did you ever have it running good before? Does is have decent compression?
    125 characters and 2 lines is not enough to list my RC obsession!!!

  24. #24

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Elmira, NY
    Posts
    134
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Got it running again but....

    Yeah I got the new motor running once before but that time i Got it running it ran full speed and I couldnt get it to shut off.It ran wide out for about 3 minutes before i could i get it to shut off.
    Torando XP

  25. #25
    MiniCwik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    New Baltimore, MI
    Posts
    1,035
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Got it running again but....

    How were you trying to shut it off?

    Just pinch the fuel line going into the HSN/carb. Or, you can plug the muffler/exhaust to shut it off.

    Can you shoot some more vid of it now? Get a decent picture of your needles and the carb opening also.
    Nitro Trk - Himoto Eldorada 1:10 4WD (w/bling)
    EP Helis - T-Rex 500 CF (401/9257) & 450 SE V2 (Scorpion -8V2/401/9257)


Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:49 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.