Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Clutchbell ?

Reply
Old 04-23-2007, 02:04 PM
  #1
RangerArlin
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Columbus, GA
Posts: 67
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Clutchbell ?

Hey guys! If i go up to a higher tooth clutchbell, will I have to also change the spurgear that I use? For instance, right now im using a 16 tooth clutchbell and a 44 tooth spurgear. If I go up to say a 17 or 19 tooth clutchbell what spurgear would I have to change to if any at all? Thanks guys. Arlin.
RangerArlin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2007, 02:11 PM
  #2
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clutchbell ?

you should be ok with a bigger clutch bell, i am running a volcano with an 18 tooth clutch bell and the stock gearing. what car are you running it in? tornado? if so you'll be ok, if its the truck and you have that 44 tooth and an 18 tooth, it will have good top end but be a pig on take off, it will be too high geared.
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2007, 02:14 PM
  #3
RangerArlin
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Columbus, GA
Posts: 67
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clutchbell ?

its a single speed tornado. Thanks man! Im headed to the hobby store now. I appreciate your help again ehroof! later, arlin.
RangerArlin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2007, 02:16 PM
  #4
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clutchbell ?

your welcome bro, get a 17 tooth savage clutch bell (hpi), let me know how it works out.
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 03:09 PM
  #5
RangerArlin
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Columbus, GA
Posts: 67
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clutchbell ?

Hey man, my LHS sucks! They never have anything I need! I ended up getting a 16 tooth clutchbell but when I tried to put it on, it was little snug. It doesnt spin freely like the other. I guess that mean its a NO-GO huh?
RangerArlin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 03:10 PM
  #6
RangerArlin
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Columbus, GA
Posts: 67
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clutchbell ?

it was HPI part # 77106
RangerArlin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 03:15 PM
  #7
hawk900
 
hawk900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Manitowoc, WI
Posts: 365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clutchbell ?

#77106 racing clutch bell fits in my volcano stx

not snug at all
hawk900 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 03:21 PM
  #8
RangerArlin
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Columbus, GA
Posts: 67
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clutchbell ?

so you could spin it freely with no resistance at all? Mine wouldn't make it 3 revolutions around before it would stop!
RangerArlin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 04:06 PM
  #9
Chubbysdad
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 2,824
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clutchbell ?

Did you tighten the screw to tight? if so loosen it a bit and locktite it in.
Chubbysdad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 04:14 PM
  #10
AllAboutFunHobbies
 
AllAboutFunHobbies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 3,096
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clutchbell ?

That or you have the washers in the wrong position.
AllAboutFunHobbies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 04:34 PM
  #11
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clutchbell ?

or remove one of the washers, or you have a bad bearing
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 08:17 PM
  #12
RangerArlin
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Columbus, GA
Posts: 67
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clutchbell ?

Hey Thanks guys for all your replies! Im gonna see what I can do and I'll let you know!
RangerArlin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 05:18 PM
  #13
RangerArlin
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Columbus, GA
Posts: 67
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clutchbell ?

hey ehroof, if i have to take a washer out to make it fit right should i take it from the front of the clutchbell or the back?
RangerArlin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 05:24 PM
  #14
scrambler 82
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Morenci, AZ
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clutchbell ?

It depends on how your gears line up, you need 100% contact-preferrably in the middle of your clutch bell. I have 3 hurricanes and have ran a 13 tooth all the way up to a 20 tooth, and never messed with the hight. Just make sure you purchase a "hardened vented racing clutch bell" if you have the steel spur gears, the other ones strip too easy.
scrambler 82 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 05:33 PM
  #15
RangerArlin
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Columbus, GA
Posts: 67
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clutchbell ?

im putting on a 16 tooth hpi racing clutch bell part #77106. its for my single speed tornado. i would like to put a steel spur gear in. do you know what part #?
RangerArlin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 05:35 PM
  #16
123michael
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: wigan, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 911
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clutchbell ?

I HAVE RACING 17 TOOTH IN AND A HPI FIRESTRM CLUCH SYSTEM
123michael is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 05:56 PM
  #17
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clutchbell ?

Quote:
ORIGINAL: RangerArlin

hey ehroof, if i have to take a washer out to make it fit right should i take it from the front of the clutchbell or the back?
try the one on the inside first and see how that works out.


there are no steel spur gears for the 1/10ths that we know of
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 06:43 PM
  #18
RangerArlin
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Columbus, GA
Posts: 67
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clutchbell ?

dang that sucks about the steel spur gears! im tired of replacing them! haha! I found my problem and the clutch shoes and rubbing the inside of the clutchbell on one side causing the friction. any ideas??
RangerArlin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 06:59 PM
  #19
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clutchbell ?

maybe sand them down a little
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 07:02 PM
  #20
RangerArlin
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Columbus, GA
Posts: 67
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clutchbell ?

i'll give it a shot and see what happens thanks man!
RangerArlin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 07:13 PM
  #21
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clutchbell ?

i hope it works for you, are you using the aluminum ones?
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 08:55 PM
  #22
RangerArlin
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Columbus, GA
Posts: 67
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clutchbell ?

no just the factory ones that came with it only because you said that you did that too. Recommendations?
RangerArlin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 09:01 PM
  #23
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clutchbell ?

the stock factory ones are aluminum, sand them down a little, they shouldnt rub, mine didnt on any of my redcats with the hpi clutch bells
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 09:21 PM
  #24
RangerArlin
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Columbus, GA
Posts: 67
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clutchbell ?

Im not sure if mine are aluminum. They're white in color and are flexible. My car is just the basic tornado XL single speed.
RangerArlin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 09:37 PM
  #25
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Clutchbell ?

maybe you have a new upgraded version, the new cars are supposed to have new clutch shoes, spring and clutch bells, steel ones.
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:36 PM.