Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Servo going out?

Reply
Old 07-13-2007, 06:56 PM
  #1
jdm_k20
Thread Starter
 
jdm_k20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: seffner, FL
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Servo going out?

I ran my Tornado BB last night and found something wrong. I was running it for about 10 minutes and then the throttle starts to mess up. I give it gas and the car, nor the throttle arm will not move. the steering was working fine, but the throttle has something wrong with it. I put fresh batteries in the car and remote today and still have the same problem, I will run the car and the throttle will keep going out. Any one know if the servo is going bad?
jdm_k20 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 07:14 PM
  #2
AllAboutFunHobbies
 
AllAboutFunHobbies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 3,096
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo going out?

It's quite possible that the servo is going out. Check the wires and make sure there not rubbed in a spot and bare, check to make sure that the wires are plug into the reciever snuggly and not bouncing around in the hole. Flip flop the throttle servo for the steering servo (do it at the reciever with out taking the servos off the car) and see if the steering servo stops working in the throttle position on the reciever.
AllAboutFunHobbies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 08:41 PM
  #3
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo going out?

a few of mine did the same thing, it ended up being the transmitter, there is a messed up wire inside, i couldnt get it to work consistent when i took it apart so in the trash it went!!!!
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 12:33 AM
  #4
jdm_k20
Thread Starter
 
jdm_k20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: seffner, FL
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo going out?

Well I messed with it earlier to check for loose wires and accidently pulled a wire from the bottom of the servo. I hope thats the problem because now I have to buy a new one lol.
jdm_k20 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 06:24 PM
  #5
AllAboutFunHobbies
 
AllAboutFunHobbies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 3,096
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo going out?

LOL, well if it wasn't it is now, lol.
AllAboutFunHobbies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 07:01 PM
  #6
jdm_k20
Thread Starter
 
jdm_k20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: seffner, FL
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo going out?

Well I was looking for one on ebay for cheap and I don't know if a new one has to be the exact same from Redcat? One I found was cheap and looks the same as my old one. OFNA MBX ULTRA LX STEERING THROTTLE SERVO SX-0001 is the one im looking at. Would it work or do i need to buy one from Redcat?
jdm_k20 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 08:38 PM
  #7
AllAboutFunHobbies
 
AllAboutFunHobbies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 3,096
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo going out?

Ya pretty much any servo will work as long as it's not a micro or mini servo. That servo your looking at is a pretty good servo, way better than the redcat servos.
AllAboutFunHobbies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 08:46 PM
  #8
jdm_k20
Thread Starter
 
jdm_k20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: seffner, FL
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo going out?

Then that one it is. Hopefully thats whats wrong. Thanks for your help!
jdm_k20 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 08:53 PM
  #9
AllAboutFunHobbies
 
AllAboutFunHobbies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 3,096
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo going out?

While your waiting use the servo that's not borken to finish checking to see if it's the radio or not, plug it into the two different positions on the reciever and see if it works in both positions. The only thing that can actaully hinder using that servo is if it's a futaba style servo horn, I think they are smaller where the servo horn hooks on. Do you have a link for the servo. Ya might want to email the seller and ask him what style servo horn it is. But if he doesn't know, you can get a futaba servo horn cheap enough from your LHS, if not let me know I have futaba horns laying all over and I can send you one if it is a Futaba style horn.
AllAboutFunHobbies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 10:01 PM
  #10
jdm_k20
Thread Starter
 
jdm_k20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: seffner, FL
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo going out?

Well the throttle only stopped working when i actually ran the car. After I turned it off it worked fine, so im not sure if I will be able to check the steering, but I will try. I sent the guy a message about which horn it uses, if it's smaller I might just try to find a different servo. Here is the link to it. http://cgi.ebay.com/BRAND-NEW-OFNA-S...QQcmdZViewItem
jdm_k20 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 10:31 PM
  #11
AllAboutFunHobbies
 
AllAboutFunHobbies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 3,096
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo going out?

Oh ya know what, it could be the plug is loose, I've had cars doing that where one servo would go out only when it's running, the plug might be shaking on the reciever pins.
AllAboutFunHobbies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 11:45 PM
  #12
jdm_k20
Thread Starter
 
jdm_k20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: seffner, FL
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo going out?

When i changed the batteries, I also checked the plug to make sure it wasn't comming lose or hanging out or something. I made sure it was on there good, but still did the same thing when i ran it again. I sure hope it wasn't something as simple as that lol i'd feel pretty stupid [:@]
jdm_k20 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:48 PM.