Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Clutch Bell Allen Screw Torque?

Ok, finally caught the UPS man and got my Tornado BB. Mine shipped with the new clutch bell so I went ahead and changed it. My question is this. How tight do I put the allen screw that holds the clutch bell to the fly wheel. I put it pretty tight so it would not back off, but the clutch bell does not spin. Is this too tight? I am pretty sure it is, just want to make sure. I am new to RC, if I understand correctly this is an centrifugal clutch and should only engage as RPM's increase. So, how tight do I put the darn thing? Should I put some Lock Tight and just snug it up? Thanks for the help.

BTW, I am also curious about the clutch shoes themselves. Mine seem to be some kind of plastic. Is this stock or something new. I also ordered the Traxxas spring and will be installing that as soon as I am sure about the Clutch Bell Allen Screw torque.

Again, thanks for the help and expect many more questions in the near future.
    He who dies with the most toys wins!
    Savage X, LST2, RedCat Tornado BB, LOSI Micro DT, Slash, Custom Stick Clod

RE: Clutch Bell Allen Screw Torque?

Something is in the wrong place, you should be able to tighten your clutch bell screw all the way down tight and the clutch bell should still turn. You have to many washers or something. The clutch shoes and spring that are coming on the cars now is a good set up finally and last a good long time. The clutch shoes are nylon and it's stock now.
    Dealer for..Redcat, Traxxas, Associated, Cen, Racers Edge, RD Logic, Losi, HPI, E-flight, Himoto, Venom, Heli-Max, O.S...etc

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback