Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

a new engine for my Shockwave

Reply
Old 11-23-2007, 09:39 AM
  #1
FlyinGN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cinnaminson, NJ
Posts: 645
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default a new engine for my Shockwave

HPI nitrostar .15

http://www.hpiracing.com/products/en/15101.html

hope it runs as good as it looks
FlyinGN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 09:54 AM
  #2
biggbronco
 
biggbronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: columbus, GA
Posts: 67
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: a new negine for my Shockwave

i'm not too much in the know about which engines put out what. i see that this says it's got 1.2 HP, just for comparison, what do the stock Redcat engines put out??
biggbronco is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 09:54 AM
  #3
pede_187
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bridgewater, NJ
Posts: 3,961
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: a new negine for my Shockwave

How about an OS .18 CV-R or the SH .18?
pede_187 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 10:19 AM
  #4
FlyinGN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cinnaminson, NJ
Posts: 645
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: a new negine for my Shockwave

I did a search for that exact answer and I could not find anything.. Id be willing to bet the VX-16 has under 1 hp tho..


Quote:
ORIGINAL: biggbronco

i'm not too much in the know about which engines put out what. i see that this says it's got 1.2 HP, just for comparison, what do the stock Redcat engines put out??
FlyinGN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 10:21 AM
  #5
FlyinGN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cinnaminson, NJ
Posts: 645
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: a new negine for my Shockwave

OS is a lot more expensive and Im done with Redcats engines.. my first one with proper break in lasted 1 quart ..


Quote:
ORIGINAL: pede_kid

How about an OS .18 CV-R or the SH .18?
FlyinGN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 10:30 AM
  #6
pede_187
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bridgewater, NJ
Posts: 3,961
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: a new engine for my Shockwave

The OS .18 CV-RX is only $110 http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXGGP7&P=ML only $15 more than the T-15.
pede_187 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 03:05 PM
  #7
FlyinGN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cinnaminson, NJ
Posts: 645
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: a new engine for my Shockwave

that is a good price but I paid $30 less for the HPI motor..
almost 30% less.

Quote:
ORIGINAL: pede_kid

The OS .18 CV-RX is only $110 http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXGGP7&P=ML only $15 more than the T-15.
FlyinGN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 03:25 PM
  #8
pede_187
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bridgewater, NJ
Posts: 3,961
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: a new engine for my Shockwave

And 40% more power
pede_187 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 03:33 PM
  #9
FlyinGN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cinnaminson, NJ
Posts: 645
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: a new engine for my Shockwave

also did research on that too. HP figures are pulled out of the air. They mean nothing in the real world.


Quote:
ORIGINAL: pede_kid

And 40% more power
FlyinGN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 03:55 PM
  #10
pede_187
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bridgewater, NJ
Posts: 3,961
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: a new engine for my Shockwave

Yeah just saying. It has quite a bit of power.
pede_187 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 07:26 PM
  #11
FlyinGN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cinnaminson, NJ
Posts: 645
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: a new engine for my Shockwave

yea OS mills are top of the food chain. for sure..


Quote:
ORIGINAL: pede_kid

Yeah just saying. It has quite a bit of power.
FlyinGN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 07:31 PM
  #12
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: a new engine for my Shockwave

os is a great engine, that hpi is a decent engine, i had one, its not a real power house but pretty reliable, you should have dont the engine replacement program and got the sh .18, its a real good engine, reliable, easy to tune and powerful, you will like the hpi engine, its pretty reliable.
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 01:52 PM
  #13
Deftones123
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: orlando, FL
Posts: 1,268
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: a new engine for my Shockwave

how did the engine work out, im looking to put the same hpi nitro star engine in my shockwave?
Deftones123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 01:54 PM
  #14
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: a new engine for my Shockwave

get the sh.18 from redcat, has much more power than the hpi and at $50, its a great deal.
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 02:09 PM
  #15
Deftones123
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: orlando, FL
Posts: 1,268
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: a new engine for my Shockwave

i have had so much bad luck with my redcat racing engine, i never got it to run right, followed all breakin instructions and everything, had my father in law look at it and couldn't get it running and hes been working with nitro engines for years. I called redcat racing and asked what i could do and they said do the engine replacement thats all they could do, and I have only had the thing for a week, didn't even put 3 tanks of fuel through it.
Deftones123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 02:12 PM
  #16
Deftones123
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: orlando, FL
Posts: 1,268
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: a new engine for my Shockwave

engine was running so hot, it was smoking out of the head, we richened it alot and put new fuel lines on it, tryed everything.
Deftones123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 02:14 PM
  #17
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: a new engine for my Shockwave

the sh company makes great engines, its not the vx that comes with them, its a different engine. Check your tank and make sure that its not clogged behind the nipple and fuel is flowing freely, thats the only reason why i can think that the engine would have been killed in 3 tanks. If its got a clean and oiled air filter, free flowing fuel and set rich enough, the engine should work great. All my stock redcat engines are working to this day.
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 02:21 PM
  #18
Deftones123
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: orlando, FL
Posts: 1,268
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: a new engine for my Shockwave

trust me, we did everything to get try and get it working, and no luck.
Deftones123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 03:05 PM
  #19
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: a new engine for my Shockwave

how is the compression? you made sure the fuel was free flowing?
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 03:07 PM
  #20
Deftones123
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: orlando, FL
Posts: 1,268
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: a new engine for my Shockwave

personally i think the engine has a air leak somewhere.
Deftones123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 03:09 PM
  #21
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: a new engine for my Shockwave

it can be at the base of the carb or the backplate, i usually check for a leak by spraying fuel from a spray bottle on the base of the carb and backplate while its running and see if the idle changes, if it does that that would be where the problem is.
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 03:11 PM
  #22
Deftones123
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: orlando, FL
Posts: 1,268
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: a new engine for my Shockwave

can u put something to seal the leak with?
Deftones123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 03:22 PM
  #23
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: a new engine for my Shockwave

rtv gasket silicone, from an autoparts store.
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 03:49 PM
  #24
FlyinGN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cinnaminson, NJ
Posts: 645
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: a new engine for my Shockwave

did not get it yet. I will post pics and report when I get it. I have more hop up parts for the wave coming too.



Quote:
ORIGINAL: Deftones123

how did the engine work out, im looking to put the same hpi nitro star engine in my shockwave?
FlyinGN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 03:50 PM
  #25
FlyinGN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cinnaminson, NJ
Posts: 645
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: a new engine for my Shockwave

Me too. Not a quart thru mine and it was compression free Im done with redcat motors.. no way..



Quote:
ORIGINAL: Deftones123

i have had so much bad luck with my redcat racing engine, i never got it to run right, followed all breakin instructions and everything, had my father in law look at it and couldn't get it running and hes been working with nitro engines for years. I called redcat racing and asked what i could do and they said do the engine replacement thats all they could do, and I have only had the thing for a week, didn't even put 3 tanks of fuel through it.
FlyinGN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:34 PM.