Community
Search
Notices
Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

What is your opinion on RedCat?

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2008, 10:36 PM
S.R.G.
My Feedback: (4)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What is your opinion on RedCat?

I am planning to purchase either a Tornado or a Tsunami in 2 days or so. I have been reading around on the forums that the RedCat RC's are crap when it comes to quality. Right off the bat it seems you have to blow $25 on a belt, springs, gears, and other things to keep it running for more than a day. I would like to have a nitro rc that is cheap and reliable, as I am a beginner to nitro rc's. However, most of the posts on the forum is from 1-3 of 07, and perhaps they have improved the quality of their products. If somebody can tell me of their quality today, and if they are a good beginners nitro.

Also I have a question on whether it is a must to go from 2 speed to a single speed - beginner + car work = pretty messy.

Thanks for any help you can provide me.
Old 01-05-2008, 10:42 PM
ehroof

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: What is your opinion on RedCat?

there is no belt on a redcat and the gear mesh problem was take care of over a year ago. they are a great rc for the money. its not a neccesity to go to a single speed but it makes it better for off road but you DONT NEED to do it. I have pretty much every redcat they make and i have the original volcano stx from a few years ago along with the tornado xp and i love them, just put the upgraded clutch bell and clutch spring and problems were solved, now they come with them from the factory. not to mention the support you get from the forum support team, LOL
Old 01-05-2008, 10:49 PM
S.R.G.

Thank you very much. I am ready to purchase my new nitro. I am now only down to deciding which is best for me, the Tsunami or the Tornado. If maybe you could assist me, or anyone else, I would like to know the following things.