Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Temp Gauge??

Reply
Old 01-06-2008, 05:01 AM
  #1
xjedix
Thread Starter
 
xjedix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: , AZ
Posts: 82
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Temp Gauge??

It appears that a digital temp gauge is a pretty handy item in the nitro rc world. What kind of temp gauges are you guys using?? I am not looking to spend too much but want something that works.

Any thoughts on this??? http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/cta...emnumber=96451
xjedix is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 07:50 AM
  #2
vnmsgt
 
vnmsgt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: winter garden, FL
Posts: 3,646
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Temp Gauge??

Here is what I use and most people that I run with.

[link]http://cgi.ebay.com/DuraTrax-FlashPoint-Infrared-Temperature-Gauge-Temp-Gun_W0QQitemZ280189343305QQihZ018QQcategoryZ44028Q QssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem[/link]
vnmsgt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 08:24 AM
  #3
twomanytoys
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: , PA
Posts: 5,382
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Temp Gauge??

XJ that one would be overkill. The one that vnmsgt is what most use or something similar.
twomanytoys is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 11:00 AM
  #4
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Temp Gauge??

that duratrax one and the ones like it from other company's is not very accurate, i have found them to be off by 20+ degrees. Go with something from carlsen tuning, you can get them on ebay.
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 11:55 AM
  #5
rc_crazy21
 
rc_crazy21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: somewhere in Rc land, MN
Posts: 204
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Temp Gauge??

I personally like the Raytek temp guns, it has an all digital read out and has always be right on. Plus they have a laser pointer so you can aim and shoot. You can find them for 50.00 or less on ebay!
rc_crazy21 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 02:35 PM
  #6
xjedix
Thread Starter
 
xjedix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: , AZ
Posts: 82
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Temp Gauge??

Is this the model Carlsen temp gauge you use???

xjedix is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 03:46 PM
  #7
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Temp Gauge??

no, mine is more like a gun but i am sure that one is good too.
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 09:07 PM
  #8
rc_crazy21
 
rc_crazy21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: somewhere in Rc land, MN
Posts: 204
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Temp Gauge??

That one looks the same as all the cheaper ones, just different label. I have a few like that as well that i keep in my vehicles in case i for get the Raytek. That style is not completely accurate, but work in range.
rc_crazy21 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 09:28 PM
  #9
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Temp Gauge??

much different, the cheaper ones are smaller and go for like $20 max, that goes for about $40, world of difference, bigger and much more accurate.
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 10:15 PM
  #10
rc_crazy21
 
rc_crazy21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: somewhere in Rc land, MN
Posts: 204
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Temp Gauge??

I would not think because it is bigger it would be more accurate! For 40.00 i would would by the raytek gun, much better product and only a little more. They have gone down way in price since i bought mine, i paid close to 120.00 years back!
rc_crazy21 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 10:17 PM
  #11
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Temp Gauge??

carlsen tuning makes some of the best products for the rc hobby, i would stick to them i have one for years, works great. apples and oranges

i didnt say since its bigger its more accurate, i just said that its bigger than those cheaper duratrax ones since you made the comment that it looks like the same cheaper ones. its not, its bigger and made by a different company, not the same generic small one you see made my different companies.
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 10:24 PM
  #12
rc_crazy21
 
rc_crazy21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: somewhere in Rc land, MN
Posts: 204
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Temp Gauge??

Every one has their preference, i just feel if you are going to spend 40+ dollars on something like that, spend a little more and get something that will be better! There are many temp gun's so you can pick and choose, just compare them before you jump into something. Just because someone likes it does not mean you are going to, so if you have a chance to look at some before you buy i would suggest doing it!!
rc_crazy21 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 10:28 PM
  #13
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Temp Gauge??

this link has the gun i have and i am talking about.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=208419
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 10:28 PM
  #14
xjedix
Thread Starter
 
xjedix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: , AZ
Posts: 82
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Temp Gauge??

I actually asked a buddy of mine about them today and I believe he said they use a Raytek at his machine shop. Where is a good place to find them locally, home depot, auto stores??? I am sure any of them are accurate enough for this use. I am open to any decent brand but am looking for a pistol grip one that has a laser for under $50.
xjedix is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 10:32 PM
  #15
rc_crazy21
 
rc_crazy21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: somewhere in Rc land, MN
Posts: 204
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Temp Gauge??

Here is the one i use:
http://www.raytek.com/Raytek/en-r0/P...ld/Default.htm


I have seen the one you have around, i think you can get them at auto shops around here!
rc_crazy21 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 10:53 PM
  #16
xjedix
Thread Starter
 
xjedix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: , AZ
Posts: 82
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Temp Gauge??

I am trying to compare the two and I cant seem to find a website for Carlsen and can only find one for sale on ebay??? Also noticed the Harbor Freight special I found appears to have the same accuracy rating as Raytek's.
xjedix is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 11:10 PM
  #17
dclintonh
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: greenville, SC
Posts: 434
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Temp Gauge??

harbor frieght has a smaller one like the duratrax one that has a laser on it that goes up to 450+ f,
jsut dont get the 250 f one. mine works great and it only cost 15bucks.
dclintonh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 08:38 AM
  #18
ehroof
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Temp Gauge??

one of my lhs's carries the gun, thats where i got it, xhoutas got it and rcdanny too, its a great gun!!!!! brooklynhobbies.com, they sell on line too, if its not on the site, drop richie an email.
ehroof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 09:10 PM
  #19
rc_crazy21
 
rc_crazy21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: somewhere in Rc land, MN
Posts: 204
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Temp Gauge??

Either way, if you buy the carlson or the raytek you will be set for a temp gun as they both seem to make great ones!
rc_crazy21 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:12 AM.