Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > Redcat Racing Support
Reload this Page >

Is this correct (carb-in lightning)

Community
Search
Notices
Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Is this correct (carb-in lightning)

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2008, 07:12 PM
hennytime

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is this correct (carb-in lightning)

Ok, I'm having some issues getting my car to just idle. This is my first time playing with a rc car and ive got it to the point where it either just stalls after about 5 seconds or it wants to run away from me out of control and obviously is idling way too high. This is also my first time using carburetors but i do mod cars quite a lot. Anyways, i took a pic of the carb fully closed and my buddy who has a few years experience running rc cars said it has too much of a gap and said it should be no more than 1mm.

Here is the pic, and basically I'm asking what you guys think my issues might be. everything came from the factory as such. thanks in advance, Ryan.

Old 02-09-2008, 07:16 PM
ehroof

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Is this correct (carb-in lightning)

thats too open bro, you have to trim it back to close it, use the trim control on the transmitter, hit the brake and see if it closes and has the 1mm gap.
Old 02-09-2008, 07:19 PM
rclynx

Man that looks like its ready to swallow a horse
Old 02-09-2008, 09:25 PM
Redharris

This is the way Ive been doing it.
I take OFF the linkage and close the carb manually and then adjust the Idle Screw to about where it should be, (about 1 mm opening).
Then I turn the Radio on and center the servo. Then I re-install the linkage and adjust it to the point where, when I take my finger off the throttle, the carb setting is at neutral (no brake/an no throttle). Now I start the car (use a bit of throttle trim if you need to) and adjust the Idle screw for Stationary idle.