Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Glitching Radio Crash

Reply
Old 03-05-2008, 10:27 AM
  #26
MadMatt2024
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dolgeville, NY
Posts: 36
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Glitching Radio Crash

I just figured I would tell you what might have caused your interference. Do you know that the 27MHz band is also used for CB radios? When it comes to your little .1 watt transmitter Vs. a 4 watt CB guess who is going to win.
MadMatt2024 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 10:15 PM
  #27
Redharris
Thread Starter
 
Redharris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Panorama, CA
Posts: 2,133
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Glitching Radio Crash

I didnt mean to start a BASH session on the Redcat Radio. Lol.
That radio is actually pretty good for the $300 price of the Vehicle.
Dont know many other MFG's that sell a Programmable FM radio(to set steering and throttle endpoints) with THEIR $300 cars.....
And lets face it,,,,Most folks EXPECT to replace the Stock radios, any way, for anything other than Casual use.

Obviously, I AM havin a problem with MINE, but if YOUR radio is workin Fine, there is no reason to run out and replace it.
I'm thinkin I just have a bad connection somewhere, or Maybe there was a RUN of bad Receivers from the factory.

Madmat
Thats an interesting thought....
I Know that Old school CB's with Analog components could drift out Calibration and Bleed into other Freqs.
I'm not enuff of a Radio guy to Know if that is likely with Todays DIGITAL Transceivers.
Any Radio Buffs out there that can comment on that?
Redharris is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 10:21 PM
  #28
firebird78
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: lewis, KS
Posts: 3,141
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Glitching Radio Crash

well...I been around cb's some....u can get off frequency....some radios u can split channels....I do remember my dads cb messin with my radio shack golden arrow when I was a kid...so its veeeeeery possible....
firebird78 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 10:53 PM
  #29
mrlee2071
 
mrlee2071's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 147
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Glitching Radio Crash


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Redharris

I didnt mean to start a BASH session on the Redcat Radio. Lol.
That radio is actually pretty good for the $300 price of the Vehicle.
Dont know many other MFG's that sell a Programmable FM radio(to set steering and throttle endpoints) with THEIR $300 cars.....
And lets face it,,,,Most folks EXPECT to replace the Stock radios, any way, for anything other than Casual use.

Obviously, I AM havin a problem with MINE, but if YOUR radio is workin Fine, there is no reason to run out and replace it.
I'm thinkin I just have a bad connection somewhere, or Maybe there was a RUN of bad Receivers from the factory.

Madmat
Thats an interesting thought....
I Know that Old school CB's with Analog components could drift out Calibration and Bleed into other Freqs.
I'm not enuff of a Radio guy to Know if that is likely with Todays DIGITAL Transceivers.
Any Radio Buffs out there that can comment on that?
Your soo right, bang for the digital buck, you can't beat redcat
Got mine back on the road tonight, so far no reoccurning problems.
mrlee2071 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2008, 09:32 PM
  #30
mrlee2071
 
mrlee2071's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 147
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Glitching Radio Crash

I have seen the radio glitch light for myself today. I took my Hurricane to work to show my guys and when I turned on the radio it freeked out. BAD. I am the fleet manager for a large school district and we have a 100' radio tower in our yard. The radio did not respond at all. I wanted to do it's own thing no matter what I did. I thought, well here we go, now the radio is gone.
When I returned home tonight, the radio worked fine. No problem.
I was not sure with todays radio systems (FM Digital) that radio interference would cause a problem, trust me, it does (big time)
Hope this helps.
Lee
mrlee2071 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2008, 09:48 PM
  #31
TThib
 
TThib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cranston, RI
Posts: 242
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Glitching Radio Crash

Yes... I work with Sat, Microwave, and HF communications. RF radiation causes havoc with all sorts of stuff if your close enough and/or the output is high enough.

Hhhhmn... maybe I'll take my Hurricane with the FM in it next time I go onsite to see what happens. Then I'll try out the other hurricane with the Airtronics FHSS and see if there is a difference. (I'd bet on the FHSS to work, but you never know)
TThib is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 12:45 AM
  #32
Redharris
Thread Starter
 
Redharris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Panorama, CA
Posts: 2,133
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Glitching Radio Crash

TThib ....
Good idea! Let us Know what happens.....
I've been in the Radio Forum, and even the Guys with SPECTRUM type 2.4Ghz radios suffer from Glitches n Weird behavior from time to time....
Redharris is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 12:59 PM
  #33
mrlee2071
 
mrlee2071's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 147
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Glitching Radio Crash

Yes, good Idea.
I'm going to buy some different crystals for my radio and check again.
Investigation is power.
mrlee2071 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 08:23 PM
  #34
TThib
 
TThib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cranston, RI
Posts: 242
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Glitching Radio Crash

I've heard that excessive vibration to the reciever can cause problems, though on the canes it's jammed in there pretty tight. I read somewhere to wrap your reciever in aluminum foil and it helps with interferance. I dunno... worth a try I suppose.
TThib is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 11:39 PM
  #35
mrlee2071
 
mrlee2071's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 147
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Glitching Radio Crash

Cool, but watch out for your servos. My steering servo actually went past the stop and I had to take it apart and repair it. No big deal but a little time consuming.
Let us know.
mrlee2071 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:55 PM.