Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

wont be runnin for a while

Reply
Old 03-26-2008, 10:32 PM
  #1
jumpanddrop
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: , BC, CANADA
Posts: 808
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default wont be runnin for a while

well i new it was goin to happen but i didint get the failsafe in time. i hit a jump and pined the thotle to get my nose up and my reciver switch got nocked off[:@]. so there i am running as fast as i can accros the yard while it dose a could flips,smokes a tree and then tumbles into the gargen fence wide open[:'(]. i broke the gas tank, 3 A arms, broke the peace that the arms go into the chassis on the back, bent 2 shocks, bent my chasis and im almost 100% sure i blew up my motor. when i try to turn ther flywheel it just makes a clicking sound so i gess i snaped a con rod and wrecked a sleave. man this teaches me to put a return spring on. i gess its going to be a month or two before i can run again b/c i cant afford a new motor[].[:@]. anyone out there wanna give me a good deal on a motor??? [8D]
jumpanddrop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 10:45 PM
  #2
Cam_132
 
Cam_132's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Maple Ridge, BC, CANADA
Posts: 1,504
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: wont be runnin for a while

Quote:
ORIGINAL: jumpanddrop

well i new it was goin to happen but i didint get the failsafe in time. i hit a jump and pined the thotle to get my nose up and my reciver switch got nocked off[:@]. so there i am running as fast as i can accros the yard while it dose a could flips,smokes a tree and then tumbles into the gargen fence wide open[:'(]. i broke the gas tank, 3 A arms, broke the peace that the arms go into the chassis on the back, bent 2 shocks, bent my chasis and im almost 100% sure i blew up my motor. when i try to turn ther flywheel it just makes a clicking sound so i gess i snaped a con rod and wrecked a sleave. man this teaches me to put a return spring on. i gess its going to be a month or two before i can run again.[:@]. anyone out there wanna give me a good deal on a motor??? [8D]
jeez man that sucks! beter give Rob a call! lol

make a list of what parts you broke! and open up the engine i want to see what happened (and take pics of cource) and take pics of your whole ride!

dude that SUCKS [&o]

and that makes me want to get a throtal return spring!
Cam_132 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 10:46 PM
  #3
5lagd
 
5lagd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: guelph, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,331
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: wont be runnin for a while

redcat engine replacement programm. lol
5lagd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 10:47 PM
  #4
jumpanddrop
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: , BC, CANADA
Posts: 808
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: wont be runnin for a while

yes i would take a pic if i had a camera right now, lol mom is away with it[:@]
jumpanddrop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 10:48 PM
  #5
Cam_132
 
Cam_132's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Maple Ridge, BC, CANADA
Posts: 1,504
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: wont be runnin for a while


Quote:
ORIGINAL: ldgasp

redcat engine replacement programm. lol
lol ya and get a SH engine lol
if you have a 1/10 get a 21 for Poops and giggels!
Cam_132 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 10:51 PM
  #6
jumpanddrop
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: , BC, CANADA
Posts: 808
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: wont be runnin for a while

i wish i could use the program but its not a redcat engine[:@]. gess ill have to start savin up for a new motor[]. i shouldent have gotton rid of the vx.18
jumpanddrop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 11:09 PM
  #7
jumpanddrop
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: , BC, CANADA
Posts: 808
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: wont be runnin for a while

ya i gess ill try and take the engine apart. kinda nervos doing that but i gess i cant wreck anyting. anything i should watch out for with these little engines??? hope fully its just a con rod,pison and sleave so i dont have to drop 120 bux on a new motor[:@]
jumpanddrop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 11:13 PM
  #8
Cam_132
 
Cam_132's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Maple Ridge, BC, CANADA
Posts: 1,504
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: wont be runnin for a while

the only thing is, when you are takeing it apart take out the glow plug first then remove the head then the sleeve then the back plate then the conecting rod then the clutch and fly wheel then remove the crank. check it all for scratches. and if the conecting rod is gone might as while buy a new engine... what engine do you have?
Cam_132 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 11:16 PM
  #9
TThib
 
TThib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cranston, RI
Posts: 242
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: wont be runnin for a while

Nothing to it... Take the backplate and head off, if your conrod isn't in pieces use the ziptie in the port trick to help pop the sleeve off. Conrod/piston comes off the crank just about TDC (with some gentle coaxing).

There's my Readers Digest Abridged Version...
TThib is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 11:16 PM
  #10
jumpanddrop
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: , BC, CANADA
Posts: 808
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: wont be runnin for a while


Quote:
ORIGINAL: retard1322

the only thing is, when you are takeing it apart take out the glow plug first then remove the head then the sleeve then the back plate then the conecting rod then the clutch and fly wheel then remove the crank. check it all for scratches. and if the conecting rod is gone might as while buy a new engine... what engine do you have?
realy???, crap that sucks. its a g3.0[]. this time im buyin the os crv i tink its called. anyone know of any good sales right now???
jumpanddrop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 11:18 PM
  #11
Cam_132
 
Cam_132's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Maple Ridge, BC, CANADA
Posts: 1,504
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: wont be runnin for a while

OOH Crap that sucks a hpi G3.0! that is a good engine! ya definitaly get a OS or get a SH

and can i have your old engine! see if i can fix it?

lol Canada to Canada... well BC to BC Cheep shiping!
Cam_132 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 11:20 PM
  #12
jumpanddrop
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: , BC, CANADA
Posts: 808
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: wont be runnin for a while


Quote:
ORIGINAL: retard1322

OOH Crap that sucks a hpi G3.0! that is a good engine! ya definitaly get a OS or get a SH

and can i have your old engine! see if i can fix it?

lol Canada to Canada... well BC to BC Cheep shiping!
lol maybe if i can find i new one, might be a while tho[]
jumpanddrop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 11:25 PM
  #13
Macanan
 
Macanan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New Tazewell, TN
Posts: 1,348
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: wont be runnin for a while

Quote:
ORIGINAL: jumpanddrop


Quote:
ORIGINAL: retard1322

OOH Crap that sucks a hpi G3.0! that is a good engine! ya definitaly get a OS or get a SH

and can i have your old engine! see if i can fix it?

lol Canada to Canada... well BC to BC Cheep shiping!
lol maybe if i can find i new one, might be a while tho[]
http://www.redcatracing.com/engineprogram.asp

do you have a redcat engine

If you got an upgraded motor through redcat it will only cost you half the cost of the motor

Redcat Racing has one of the best engine replacement programs in the industry.

For as long as you own your vehicle, Redcat will replace your engine no matter what happens to it. Burn it up, wear it out or beat it with a sledge hammer, Redcat will replace it for same or upgraded motor for only 1/2 of the retail price of the replacement motor you want to buy.

Macanan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 11:25 PM
  #14
Cam_132
 
Cam_132's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Maple Ridge, BC, CANADA
Posts: 1,504
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: wont be runnin for a while


Quote:
ORIGINAL: jumpanddrop


Quote:
ORIGINAL: retard1322

OOH Crap that sucks a hpi G3.0! that is a good engine! ya definitaly get a OS or get a SH

and can i have your old engine! see if i can fix it?

lol Canada to Canada... well BC to BC Cheep shiping!
lol maybe if i can find i new one, might be a while tho[]
lol EBAY... even better Craigs list!!!
Cam_132 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 12:44 AM
  #15
jumpanddrop
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: , BC, CANADA
Posts: 808
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: wont be runnin for a while


Quote:
ORIGINAL: retard1322


Quote:
ORIGINAL: jumpanddrop


Quote:
ORIGINAL: retard1322

OOH Crap that sucks a hpi G3.0! that is a good engine! ya definitaly get a OS or get a SH

and can i have your old engine! see if i can fix it?

lol Canada to Canada... well BC to BC Cheep shiping!
lol maybe if i can find i new one, might be a while tho[]
lol EBAY... even better Craigs list!!!
lol ya ill give it a try. i just order all my parts and it just over 40 bux.[:@] i hate crashes. im going to order a retrun spring also. now i just have to find a good price on a engine. hopefully i can win a half decent one on ebay for 60 bux. maybe ill try that sniping thing
jumpanddrop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 12:48 AM
  #16
Cam_132
 
Cam_132's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Maple Ridge, BC, CANADA
Posts: 1,504
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: wont be runnin for a while


Quote:
ORIGINAL: jumpanddrop

lol ya ill give it a try. i just order all my parts and it just over 40 bux.[:@] i hate crashes. im going to order a retrun spring also. now i just have to find a good price on a engine. hopefully i can win a half decent one on ebay for 60 bux. maybe ill try that sniping thing
insted of buying a throtal return spring online (for 2 or 3$ highway robery) go down to rona or Home depo take your rc with you and go to the springs and choose one there it is about 50 Cents for one there!
Cam_132 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 01:00 AM
  #17
jumpanddrop
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: , BC, CANADA
Posts: 808
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: wont be runnin for a while


Quote:
ORIGINAL: retard1322


Quote:
ORIGINAL: jumpanddrop

lol ya ill give it a try. i just order all my parts and it just over 40 bux.[:@] i hate crashes. im going to order a retrun spring also. now i just have to find a good price on a engine. hopefully i can win a half decent one on ebay for 60 bux. maybe ill try that sniping thing
insted of buying a throtal return spring online (for 2 or 3$ highway robery) go down to rona or Home depo take your rc with you and go to the springs and choose one there it is about 50 Cents for one there!
good point. ill do that
jumpanddrop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 01:09 AM
  #18
Cam_132
 
Cam_132's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Maple Ridge, BC, CANADA
Posts: 1,504
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: wont be runnin for a while

Ya the only thing is take your rc with you and choose a spring that will pull the servo back then the reciver is off but not to mutch that the serco boggs and is rilly slow... so get a light spring but one that will pull it back

and glad i could help!
Cam_132 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 01:13 AM
  #19
jumpanddrop
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: , BC, CANADA
Posts: 808
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: wont be runnin for a while


Quote:
ORIGINAL: retard1322

Ya the only thing is take your rc with you and choose a spring that will pull the servo back then the reciver is off but not to mutch that the serco boggs and is rilly slow... so get a light spring but one that will pull it back

and glad i could help!
yes thanks. i was thinking that even if i had a fail safe it wouldent of helped. lol it dosent matter now, im geting both. thats one of the worst feelings i have felt, lol watching my truck drive away on me[:'(]
jumpanddrop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 01:21 AM
  #20
Cam_132
 
Cam_132's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Maple Ridge, BC, CANADA
Posts: 1,504
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: wont be runnin for a while

ya the throtal return springs are more reliable than fail safes... if your falesafe has a batterie (witch i doubt) it will be ok, but if the power is cut to the fail safe you are screwed! but throtal return springs are a wonder i am going to get one tomoro when i go to my bilders suply
Cam_132 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:11 PM.