Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 22 of 22

  1. #1
    chevyderek72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    1,784
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    "New" old motor

    So i had Redcat Nick repinch my sleeves on my engine, and ive already done two tanks of the break in and its runnin awesome. Had a really good amount of pinch, so it took like 20 pulls to start it for the first time. but after it was started and run its great. starts great, idles great, runs great. i never thought repinching sleeves would work this good. Thanks nick.
    Redcat Racing - Dunerunner, Hurricane XP, Aftershock 8e, Volcano, Volcano epx, Vortex epx, Tremor 18e pro
    Its me ti**tae

  2. #2
    chevyderek72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    1,784
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: "New" old motor

    ok scratch that, i did another tank and everything was great. then i noticed that there was a lot of oil on the car near the engine, so i looked and thought the manifold was leaking, then i looked again and saw that it was leaking from the head. so i took it off and everything looked good, so i must have been not tightened enough or something. so im putting it back on and two screws wont go on. then i noticed that the screws must have ripped the threads out of the engine block. so two of the screws wont tighten because they dont have anything to grip onto. it might be able to work if there are screws that are the same but a little bit longer, are there any that redcat sells?? and is there anyway to re-thread the block? or should i just put another engine on?
    Redcat Racing - Dunerunner, Hurricane XP, Aftershock 8e, Volcano, Volcano epx, Vortex epx, Tremor 18e pro
    Its me ti**tae

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Johns Island, SC
    Posts
    52
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: "New" old motor

    Im not exactly sure if there is an easy fix for this issue. You COULD try sealing it with some copper seal. Its like 5 bucks per can at the auto store. Im not sure if thats even something that you would do with a nitro motor. Good luck man!

  4. #4
    chevyderek72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    1,784
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: "New" old motor

    thanks ill look into it, what exactly is copper seal, and i just though of it, i could just use the baking powder trick, put baking powder in it, then a couple drops of super glue and it may work. now its actually only 1 screw that doesnt hold, but it still runs like a champ, not sure if its still leakin though
    Redcat Racing - Dunerunner, Hurricane XP, Aftershock 8e, Volcano, Volcano epx, Vortex epx, Tremor 18e pro
    Its me ti**tae

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Johns Island, SC
    Posts
    52
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: "New" old motor

    Copper seal is some good stuff man. I use it to seal all of the head gaskets in my cars when i replace them. It covers any imperfections up to a certain degree in the block or head when you put a new gasket on. Its also used to seal exhaust gaskets. It only dries when it heats up. I wouldnt use baking powder and super glue. You have to think about metal expanding when it heats up.

  6. #6

    RE: "New" old motor

    Not to step on anyones toes, but I use copper seal for head gaskets and stuff also, I agree it's great stuff, but as a thread maker I would have to disagree. The only way to realy fix threads is to either drill the hole larger and tap it or use heli coils. The engine may be small but it's still going to have a enough pressure to pull the screws out of the holes if your using gasket sealer for a re-threader. You could consider a new or used block in good condition it would still be cheaper than buying a new engine. Ya might also try JB weld, but I would be incline to think it would seal the screws in place for ever, lol.
    Dealer for..Redcat, Traxxas, Associated, Cen, Racers Edge, RD Logic, Losi, HPI, E-flight, Himoto, Venom, Heli-Max, O.S...etc

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Johns Island, SC
    Posts
    52
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: "New" old motor


    ORIGINAL: AllAboutFunHobbies

    Not to step on anyones toes, but I use copper seal for head gaskets and stuff also, I agree it's great stuff, but as a thread maker I would have to disagree. The only way to realy fix threads is to either drill the hole larger and tap it or use heli coils. The engine may be small but it's still going to have a enough pressure to pull the screws out of the holes if your using gasket sealer for a re-threader. You could consider a new or used block in good condition it would still be cheaper than buying a new engine. Ya might also try JB weld, but I would be incline to think it would seal the screws in place for ever, lol.
    NOO! I didnt mean to seal the threads with the copper seal. That would never work. I meant for him to seal the head on the block with copper seal. As for threads you could TRY a helicoil but i HIGHLY doubt they make them that small. Maybe you could use a clutch spring. Cut it and stick it in the hole so it will catch the stripped threads when you tighten it. Im not sure man. I work on real cars. This is a totally different world. i wish you the best of luck though.

  8. #8

    RE: "New" old motor

    OH, LMAO, I thought you were meaning to use it to repair the threads, LOL. The clutch spring idea might work for a heli coil, I would gather to think ya might have to drill the hole out, just a tiny bit and rethread it to make up the difference in width.
    Dealer for..Redcat, Traxxas, Associated, Cen, Racers Edge, RD Logic, Losi, HPI, E-flight, Himoto, Venom, Heli-Max, O.S...etc

  9. #9
    chevyderek72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    1,784
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: "New" old motor

    Nick is actually just gonna get me a block, so thats nice. its funny though cause it still runs great with it missing one screw. and it never even gets real hot.
    Redcat Racing - Dunerunner, Hurricane XP, Aftershock 8e, Volcano, Volcano epx, Vortex epx, Tremor 18e pro
    Its me ti**tae

  10. #10
    chevyderek72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    1,784
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: "New" old motor

    so i ended up putting a head screw in from one of my other engines, and it totally fit and tightened up, its weird because it was stripped, maybe it worked because the screw had more thread on it
    Redcat Racing - Dunerunner, Hurricane XP, Aftershock 8e, Volcano, Volcano epx, Vortex epx, Tremor 18e pro
    Its me ti**tae

  11. #11

    RE: "New" old motor

    was the screw a tiny bit thicker maybe? I would think it had to be the same thread pattern, but a tiny bit thicker or maybe a little longer bolt. otherwise it would do the same thing as the old bolt and if the thread pattern was different it would be hard screw in since it would have to cut new threads through the old threads, which would more than likely cause another stripping situation, but at any rate at least you found something to bolt it down with.
    Dealer for..Redcat, Traxxas, Associated, Cen, Racers Edge, RD Logic, Losi, HPI, E-flight, Himoto, Venom, Heli-Max, O.S...etc

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Starkville, MS
    Posts
    472
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: "New" old motor

    I have replace 2 of my motors on my volcanos it was cheaper to send the old vx 18 back and get the sh 18. which are way better than the vx 18. but had to replace 3 carbs on the sh.18, and allaboutfun whats ur return policies..

  13. #13
    chevyderek72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    1,784
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: "New" old motor

    whats wrong with the motors?
    Redcat Racing - Dunerunner, Hurricane XP, Aftershock 8e, Volcano, Volcano epx, Vortex epx, Tremor 18e pro
    Its me ti**tae

  14. #14
    Redcat Nick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    493
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: "New" old motor

    Hey did you run the other 2 motors?
    A man who smiles when things go wrong has thought of someone to blame it on!

  15. #15
    chevyderek72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    1,784
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: "New" old motor

    no not yet, im waiting on something to use them on.
    Redcat Racing - Dunerunner, Hurricane XP, Aftershock 8e, Volcano, Volcano epx, Vortex epx, Tremor 18e pro
    Its me ti**tae

  16. #16

    RE: "New" old motor

    If it's not open and it's not used, you can return it. If it's opened and it's used, no returns, unless it's defective, in which case it's up to us to determine whether it was abuse or a defect.
    Dealer for..Redcat, Traxxas, Associated, Cen, Racers Edge, RD Logic, Losi, HPI, E-flight, Himoto, Venom, Heli-Max, O.S...etc

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Starkville, MS
    Posts
    472
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: "New" old motor

    i use both motors now on my volcanos but had to buy 3 carbs and i need to buy another one but it would be cheaper sending the motor back to redcat and getting a new motor with new carb..

  18. #18

    RE: "New" old motor

    Hey, man. That sticking that you were complaining about. I think I know what it is, because I had it happen to me on a volcano SV S30 that I had sold to a guy. If you turn the idle screw in just a tad too much it will make the slide arm stick and act like there is something wrong with the carb. Other than that, we've never had one go bad or be bad, like the problem your having. I'm wondering if your idle screw is in just a tad too much. Check it out, loosen up the idle screw just a tiny bit and see if it works.
    Dealer for..Redcat, Traxxas, Associated, Cen, Racers Edge, RD Logic, Losi, HPI, E-flight, Himoto, Venom, Heli-Max, O.S...etc

  19. #19
    chevyderek72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    1,784
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: "New" old motor

    my carb on my new tornado actually was sticking. when i would let off the throttle it would stick a little too open so it would idle really high and wanna move, so i would have to tap the brakes to pull it past that part for it to idle. so i pulled the carb off, pulled the neddles out, and sprayed it down real good with brake cleaner. it stopped sticking so far, i havent ran it yet but it helped to remove the "stick". if thats what your talking about try that maybe?
    Redcat Racing - Dunerunner, Hurricane XP, Aftershock 8e, Volcano, Volcano epx, Vortex epx, Tremor 18e pro
    Its me ti**tae

  20. #20

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Starkville, MS
    Posts
    472
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: "New" old motor

    yea i cleaned one of my carbs up but totally messed up the inside so i have to have my lsn 2 turns from bottom in and the hsn 1 and half turns for it even gets power.. and the idle screw fell out so it wasn't to tight i bash this thing pretty hard 800 to 900 in this volcano wish i had cam for some of the bashing i do i prettty much will jump this thing off a top of a house to see what kind of air i can get hahahahah

  21. #21

    RE: "New" old motor

    Oh bro, you have to get someone with a video camera to record it. that's a gotta see, lol.
    Dealer for..Redcat, Traxxas, Associated, Cen, Racers Edge, RD Logic, Losi, HPI, E-flight, Himoto, Venom, Heli-Max, O.S...etc

  22. #22

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Starkville, MS
    Posts
    472
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: "New" old motor

    i really thinking about getting a 1/5 scale wanting to see that new redcat rally!!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:50 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.