Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

tornado epx

Reply
Old 12-25-2008, 07:03 PM
  #1
chevyderek72
Thread Starter
 
chevyderek72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,784
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default tornado epx

So my gf bought her dad a new tornado epx and i went over everything and made sure it worked, and it worked perfectly. Did everything great. then i packaged it up and brought it to her house. Now it just sits there and beeps over and over, and it wont do anything. So whats the problem here, the battery is charged, i charged it before i put it away. and everything seems to be pluged in.
chevyderek72 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 10:06 AM
  #2
TornadoGuy
 
TornadoGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wayne, NJ
Posts: 409
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tornado epx

You know I have the same exact car, and it does the same thing. The problem most likely is that the throttle trim is not set properly. Just set the car on top of a wooden block so the wheels are of the ground and turn the knob until the wheels stop spinning.

Good luck getting it going, and if you do get it going or you need any more help feel free to ask on here. I'll be glad to help.
TornadoGuy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 02:29 PM
  #3
chevyderek72
Thread Starter
 
chevyderek72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,784
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tornado epx

Well we were messin with it and he started pulling out the cords from the reciever. for the servo and esc and then the wheels would turn but the esc would still beep. the manual said to push the reset button on the esc but it didnt have one. so he messed with it some more and it started working. and now it works amazing.
chevyderek72 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 02:32 PM
  #4
TornadoGuy
 
TornadoGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wayne, NJ
Posts: 409
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tornado epx

Glad you got it working tihstae. Like I said come here if you need any more help.
TornadoGuy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 07:52 PM
  #5
lildaddy75249
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: gp, TX
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tornado epx

hello i have a tornado epx with the brushless upgrade ,3300,3600 7.2 venom batteries charged and ready to go, but i have a problem. when i press the trottle it goes but then it stops.i have to let go of triggered and press it again.can someone help me with this? ive checked all the connections to the motor,esc .servo,everything
lildaddy75249 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 06:23 AM
  #6
jackkpl
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: , POLAND
Posts: 80
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: tornado epx

One thing you can do is set cut off voltage on ESC to off. This might be set to some high lvl, with powerfull engines during start it takes so much current, that the voltage on battery can drop to as low as 5V. this might trigger cut-off on esc.

Another thing you can do is to get separate battery pack for receiver and servos. I had an issue with brushed motor and low quality battery. When i pressed too much throttle it voltage dropped and ESC turned off (it cannot operate on too low voltate). This happened few times a sec and caused cogging of the motor.

Let me know if it helped.
jackkpl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:18 AM.