Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 11 of 11

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bristol, TN
    Posts
    2
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    remote freq. lost temp

    I purchased a Red Cat Landslide LT at Xmas my son and I have run this truck 8 times on 2 seperate run times it seemed the remote lost freq. or had failure of somekind the truck was only 30-40ft. away and it goes to full throttle and does not respond.The last episode resulted in a broken rear lower suspension arm. If any one has answers for this problem please reply. My son and I like the truck but,we are almost afraid to run it do to this problem of unreliable control.

  2. #2
    perhamrocks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Perham, MN
    Posts
    553
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: remote freq. lost temp

    make sure that your crystals are in secure on your controller and reciever. Also make sure that the antena hasn't been ripped out of the reciever, this tends to happen when you dont leave any slack in the wire inside the box and the antenna gets pulled on. If you dont safe running the truck just turn on the power and have your son stand by the truck and then keep backing away from it while testing it. dont quote me on this but i think the range is around 250 feet?

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Tanner, AL
    Posts
    475
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: remote freq. lost temp

    GET A FAILSAFE!!!!!!!!! You shouldn't be running ANY nitro truck without a failsafe. The engine will always go to full throttle when the reciever / transmitter looses power. Spend $20 or $25 and get a failsafe! Other than that, the stock radio / servos are pretty weak anyway, you can get a quality radio with 2 servos for about $70. Cheaper if you shop around.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    bloomington, IN
    Posts
    227
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: remote freq. lost temp

    yes definity invest the $20.00 - $25.00 for a failsafe, weather you have an aftermarket radio, servos, and receiver or not.
    volcano sv, duratraxx evader, tamiya super blackfoot

  5. #5

    RE: remote freq. lost temp

    If you do the radio check test, like perhamrocks said and it still doesn't work properly you might want to go ahead and get the radio warrentied through Redcat if you don't want to have to buy a new one.
    Dealer for..Redcat, Traxxas, Associated, Cen, Racers Edge, RD Logic, Losi, HPI, E-flight, Himoto, Venom, Heli-Max, O.S...etc

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Tanner, AL
    Posts
    475
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: remote freq. lost temp

    Just so we're clear, I wasn't suggesting that you should get a new radio / servos instead of a failsafe. You need to get a failsafe regardless of what you do with your radio / servos. Don't even start it back up until you get a failsafe. It's not just to protect your truck, it's also to protect people and property that might be around you in case you have a radio failure again. If your truck looses signal, batteries get weak, run out of range, anything like that, your truck WILL go to full throttle, always. Unless you get a failsafe. I can't stress enough how important they are.....

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    lewis, KS
    Posts
    3,141
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: remote freq. lost temp

    ORIGINAL: Brett185

    GET A FAILSAFE!!!!!!!!! You shouldn't be running ANY nitro truck without a failsafe. The engine will always go to full throttle when the reciever / transmitter looses power. Spend $20 or $25 and get a failsafe! Other than that, the stock radio / servos are pretty weak anyway, you can get a quality radio with 2 servos for about $70. Cheaper if you shop around.


    I will bet that the radio is losing battery power, which will make the failsafe useless (failsafe has to have power to activate)... the problem is probably intermitant and most likely is in the reciever...there is a chance it could be in the on/off switch, but I would lean towards the reciever...you may try bypassing the on/off switch and test it without actually running the car (having one person take off with the car and shaking it and what not while the other stays put and runs the steering and throttle)...

    and you should get well over 250 ft range....you should have atleast 100 yards range


    I agree you should have a failsafe...but I'd bet that wont solve the problem.....you can either do like Wade said and have your radio warranteed, or do like Brett said and buy a low cost aftermarket radio....I myself would buy like a new low cost futaba, airtronics or jr system...you can pick them up pretty cheap, especially on ebay...you dont need anything fancy
    keep the shiney side up, the hammer down and the marshalls bored.....himoto rxb-1...himotoracingusa

  8. #8
    perhamrocks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Perham, MN
    Posts
    553
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: remote freq. lost temp

    you realise that 100 yards is only 50 feet more than 250 right?
    i said it was an estimate you don't need to rip on me

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    lewis, KS
    Posts
    3,141
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: remote freq. lost temp

    if I was ripping on you, you would know it....dont need to be defensive man....just here helping...had the same trouble with a redcat
    keep the shiney side up, the hammer down and the marshalls bored.....himoto rxb-1...himotoracingusa

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Clermont, FL
    Posts
    2,824
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: remote freq. lost temp

    with most RTR's the radio's are crap. Ditch the radio and receiver and you will like your truck even more
    Cen truggy, Bigfoot 1/5th, Cen buggy, Mg16, Redcat Earthquake, Redcat Drifter

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Marinette, WI
    Posts
    104
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: remote freq. lost temp

    I had the same problem with my landslide after a few runs. found my batteries were low. not dead and still had enough power for my othe rc. . but that was my experience. definately try new batteries though.
    CAUTION! I may bash you without knowing.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:15 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.