Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

accelerates by it self

Reply
Old 02-16-2009, 01:32 PM
  #1
ferguisa
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Mexico City, MEXICO
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default accelerates by it self

Hello, I have a new Redcat Landslide. I have brake in my engine. Batteries are new, the engine accelerates by it self to top speed. You are driving the car and suddenly goes crazy and accelerates to top speed. What can be wrong?


Thanks

Fernando Guisa
fguisa@grupo-cpi.com.mx
ferguisa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 03:06 PM
  #2
r\c justin
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Starkville, MS
Posts: 472
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: accelerates by it self

sounds like ur loseing power to the servos when ur rc get so far and out of range it does the same thing just takes off like a bat out of hell, do u have fm or am tranmitter, i would check ur electric parts leave the rc off (with out the motor runing) and make sure everything works ur steering, brakes, etc....
r\c justin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 03:26 PM
  #3
ferguisa
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Mexico City, MEXICO
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: accelerates by it self

Thanks, it do it at 1 meter not faraway. It is a am transmitter . It do it in different locations any distance. Do you think I have to replace the crystal?

Thanks

Fernando
ferguisa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 03:38 PM
  #4
r\c justin
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Starkville, MS
Posts: 472
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: accelerates by it self

i think it is the transmitter, i have about 4 of redcats transmitters and out of 4 maybe only of them work, and they are brand new...they are very very cheap made... sounds like the batteries in the bottom of the tranmitter are coming loose and not getting a good connection as all time.. i bought a old red cat off ebay that came with the old school tranmitter and i have enjoyed it more than the new crap ones that are out.. shouldn't be the cystals. u can get any 2 channel tranmitter, i would go with traxxx
r\c justin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 04:21 PM
  #5
Brett185
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Tanner, AL
Posts: 475
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: accelerates by it self

You want to get a failsafe as well. When there's a bad connection, the batteries get low, or if you run it out of range, the failsafe will automatically engage the brakes.
Brett185 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 06:32 PM
  #6
codokas
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: , NY
Posts: 171
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: accelerates by it self

Correct you are
I have had the same acceleration problems last year and it was interference(CB radio's and cell phones) I put fail safe on ALL my RC's and that was the end of the problem
DOUG
Quote:
ORIGINAL: Brett185

You want to get a failsafe as well. When there's a bad connection, the batteries get low, or if you run it out of range, the failsafe will automatically engage the brakes.
codokas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 09:08 PM
  #7
r\c justin
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Starkville, MS
Posts: 472
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: accelerates by it self

yup 15 to 20 buck u can find out at www.allaboutfunhobbies.com
r\c justin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2009, 05:52 PM
  #8
rjsdad
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: hutto, TX, AMERICAN SAMOA (USA)
Posts: 247
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: accelerates by it self

If you could buy a FM transmitter and receiver. It is worth it as well as a fail-safe.
rjsdad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 02:03 PM
  #9
ferguisa
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Mexico City, MEXICO
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: accelerates by it self

Thanks all for the tips. Some one have a WEB address where can I get the Fail-safe? Thanks
ferguisa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 03:20 PM
  #10
r\c justin
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Starkville, MS
Posts: 472
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: accelerates by it self

www.allaboutfunhobbies.com
r\c justin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:34 PM.