Notices
Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

The Ulitimate Newb

Old 03-24-2009, 09:11 AM
Doctp1885

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The Ulitimate Newb

Hello all,

The title says it all...I would have to say I'm the ultimate newb when it comes to Nitro RC "ANYTHING." So I have Zero experience. I basically picked up this hobby for my son and me. He's only 4, but loves trucks and anything fast. Figured summer is approaching fast and what better way to hit the parks and dirt and spend some father and son time. Now when I say I'm new is an understatement. Last time I even came close to holding a RC was 30 years ago. I also have OCD when it comes to researching which can be a good thing and that's how I found this site . I decided to buy a beginner hobbyist nitro RC truck (Volcano SV). Needless to say, it's been one hell of a ride to get the truck to start and tuned. I'd say I put in a good 8-10hrs so far but I still need a lot of assistance on this. Here are some questions I hope you guys can answer.

1. Finally got the carburator and trim to 1mm. Still noticed the engine after 1-2min of running will quit when idling. This is telling me that I still need to open the idle just a hair or do I need to Rich/Lean the Low Needle?

2. When accelerating, I noticed when full throttle the car would look like it Bogged down. Once I let up the throttle it would be ok. Is this because it's too lean and I need to richen up a little?

3. Braking. I adjusted the brakes but too me at the brakes still doesnt stop. If I brake with 1/4 throttle, it will keep going another 10ft before i stops. Is this normal? I adjusted to get close to where the Truck almost wont free roll, but this would cause the engine to quit. Not sure if it's too much brake or idle thread needs to adjusted just a tad.

Any info would be greatly appreciated and this is a really great web site for a newb like me.
Old 03-24-2009, 09:36 AM
Brett185