Community
Search
Notices
Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Volcano Trans

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2009, 05:06 PM
Dashiz

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Volcano Trans

Can the Volcano t2 trans go in the Volcano pro? If so what parts are necessary?
Old 04-04-2009, 05:18 PM
perhamrocks

Default RE: Volcano Trans

yes you can but you may want to consider the direct drive also. The direct drive will give you much better low end power, and a minor increase in top end. The t2 trans will only give you more top end and a loss in low end, so if you like driving fairly straight and fast, go with the t2 trans, if you like offroading more and low end power go with the direct drive.
Old 04-05-2009, 02:02 AM
AwdDude

I Just got a T2 and the tranny just went out, i opened it up and it looks like the one way bearing busted and is now a 2way bearing, is this a common thing? im new to this but whats the "direct drive". is it stronger than the t2 tranny? also is there another stronger tranny that could be modified to fit the volcano, like a T-Maxx tranny? my volcano tranny went out after only 2 days and i dont want to have to replace bearings all the time.

sorry this is slightly off topic
Old 04-05-2009, 03:17 AM
chevyderek72

The direct drive spur gear is held by a pin, so its not goin anywhere. I have one and i love it, works great, and got better bottom and top end outa it.
Old 04-05-2009, 03:30 AM
AwdDude

ORIGINAL: chevyderek72

The direct drive spur gear is held by a pin, so its not goin anywhere. I have one and i love it, works great, and got better bottom and top end outa it.

i dont under stand do you mean it doesnt have the slipping mechanism on the spur gear?
Old 04-05-2009, 04:25 AM
AwdDude

so are there any other stronger/better tranny's that will work for the Volcano? perhaps one that doesnt rely on a OWB to transfer power to the wheels?
Old 04-05-2009, 04:07 PM
chevyderek72