Notices
Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Hurricane XTR Owners?

Old 06-26-2009, 10:08 AM
LuD

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hurricane XTR Owners?

Hey guys!

I have been enjoying my Tornado BB's for a while now, and I'm ready to scale up to a 1:8. The Hurricane seems to be the best of the best from Redcat right now, regardless of the new brushless models coming out soon.

I am trying to decide if this is a good buy for $275 or not, and if it can take a good beating. I am currently undecided between spending the money on a Jato 3.3, RC10GT, or this model.

I would just like to know your personal experiences with this buggy, and if it's going to be more durable and fun to use than the Tornado. I'm not a pro, but I will go to the track for some fun, and find areas to use it in!

How does it compare to the Backdraft 3.5? 1 speed vs. 2 speed tranny? Ugh... So many choices!

Help me out!
Old 06-26-2009, 11:27 AM
jigawatt

Default RE: Hurricane XTR Owners?

The hurricane XTR is more of a track oriented buggy compared to the backdraft.

Throw some proline tires on, dial in your suspension for the track and have at it. They are fairly good performers out of the box, but they just need the right things to get it to hook up, tires being the key of course! For $275, thats one heck of a deal.

My truggy is slightly different from what I saw in the pics of the Monsoon XTR, but they are good rigs.
Old 06-26-2009, 12:38 PM
LuD

Awesome.

I will need to see what the .21 Aftershock is going to offer before I make my choice I guess... I wish the bodies had clear windows on them like the older models... Small little thing, but it makes a difference for me!