Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

aftershock 8e

Reply
Old 09-14-2009, 06:03 PM
  #1
cul8tr
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 66
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default aftershock 8e

THIS TRUCK HAS BEEN A BLAST. I cut a section of bicycle inner tube to put under the batteries to keep them from bouncing so much. I will be adding a cooling fan to the motor.
cul8tr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 06:05 PM
  #2
cul8tr
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 66
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: aftershock 8e

REDCAT PEOPLE ACTUALLY ANSWER THE PHONE, no machine or recording. GREAT customer service and support.
cul8tr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 06:08 PM
  #3
basketballfan60123
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 568
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: aftershock 8e

What are the runtimes on the Aftershock8E and how long does it take to charge the batteries (stock)?
basketballfan60123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 07:39 PM
  #4
UrcHobby
 
UrcHobby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bellmore, NY
Posts: 337
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: aftershock 8e

I haven't tryed an Aftershock. But the backdraft is getting 14-16 minutes on the batterys back and forth on the street on the throttle alot.
UrcHobby is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 09:04 PM
  #5
cul8tr
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 66
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: aftershock 8e

Run time about 20 mins. ONYX 230 about an hour to charge. A little nose heavy at first when jumping, but still learning .  Its nothing you cant figure out with run time. Ive treated it kind of rough and its doing great. Been out of RC for about 15-20 yrs. Loci MRC then this truck. Its pretty  fast truck for just getting back into RC.
cul8tr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 03:13 PM
  #6
cul8tr
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 66
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: aftershock 8e

Well after about 4 wks. of bashing a race truck. I broke the steering link. My fault. My daughter said wide open so I did on wet pavement . The truck went sideways, rolled about 40' to 50', and flipped upright. I have not been easy or very kind to this truck. I wanted to see what its made of. It has held up very well for the abuse I have put it thru.
cul8tr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 11:34 PM
  #7
mdst1960
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 72
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: aftershock 8e

Here are some pictures of my Aftershock 8E with the older nitro body version they had before the new one came out. I have it next to my Slash. Interesting to note that they are the same size but the Slash is 1/10th scale and the Aftershock is 1/8th
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Nl28358.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	672.4 KB
ID:	1279771   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fa87321.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	560.3 KB
ID:	1279772   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bh94445.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	591.5 KB
ID:	1279773   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bv59217.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	486.1 KB
ID:	1279774   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ep86084.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	396.5 KB
ID:	1279775  

mdst1960 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 01:35 PM
  #8
devast8r
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: searcy, AR
Posts: 487
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: aftershock 8e

How does it look without the body? How does it compare to the Slash also?
devast8r is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 02:25 PM
  #9
RCToysNh
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: northwood, NH
Posts: 354
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: aftershock 8e


Quote:
ORIGINAL: devast8r

How does it look without the body? How does it compare to the Slash also?
More pics here,
http://www.rctoysnh.com/catalog/prod...oducts_id=3772

Slash - 2wd - 199.99 w/o batteries.
Aftershock - 4wd complete with batteries, charge and go, 45-50 mph 20 min run times.


Customers are very happy with their purchase of this and the Buggy version.


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Sq48301.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	64.5 KB
ID:	1286158  
RCToysNh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 02:32 PM
  #10
devast8r
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: searcy, AR
Posts: 487
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: aftershock 8e

Sounds like a pretty good deal, how long does it take to charge the batteries with the included charger?
devast8r is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 02:42 PM
  #11
RCToysNh
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: northwood, NH
Posts: 354
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: aftershock 8e


Quote:
ORIGINAL: devast8r

Sounds like a pretty good deal, how long does it take to charge the batteries with the included charger?
2.5-3 hours per pack
RCToysNh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2009, 04:06 AM
  #12
mdst1960
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 72
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: aftershock 8e

Here are some Pix w/out the body for you to see. Underneath i'ts completely different from the Slash: Aftershock is 4WD, Brushless (stock) and uses 2 Lipo batteries and although the body are exacly the same size as The Aftershock is sold as 1/8th scale But the Slash is 1/10th
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Qo40423.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	344.6 KB
ID:	1286657   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gb90549.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	388.6 KB
ID:	1286658   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fk15845.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	463.2 KB
ID:	1286659   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rl24763.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	334.1 KB
ID:	1286660   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bm76479.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	441.7 KB
ID:	1286661  

mdst1960 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2009, 09:55 AM
  #13
devast8r
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: searcy, AR
Posts: 487
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: aftershock 8e

It looks more like the SC10 then the Slash huh? I bet it will take a heck of beating to.
devast8r is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2009, 10:04 PM
  #14
cul8tr
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 66
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: aftershock 8e

Yes, it will take a beating. I have not held back from anything and I have pushed this truck hard. Nothing nice , I have been mean to this truck and it has held up fine. I'm waiting for the alum. steering link to come in. I broke the composite one in a roll, tumble, slide. Whatever you want to call it, for about 40' to 50' into the curb. My fault not the Redcats or the truck. My daughter made me do it. WIDE OPEN she said. It has alot of power and needs better tires for more traction.
cul8tr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2009, 10:07 PM
  #15
devast8r
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: searcy, AR
Posts: 487
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: aftershock 8e

Your daughter huh sound like me lol.
devast8r is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 03:52 PM
  #16
cul8tr
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 66
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: aftershock 8e

Well all of the hop ups are on. The two best things that I did was put the 17mm. kit and the Backdraft whls. on it for more traction. Its like a lawnmower in the grass. It will leave two little trenches in your grass. On pavement it hooks up better, but still a little bit of a power drift at full throttle. Going to try different weight oils in the the shocks to smooth this out, if I can find a little stiffer spring I will try that to. Power drift (I guess thats what you would call it) is from the power and the torque of the brushless motor, at full throttle. Anybody have any ideas on this cure let me or us all know. Thanks
cul8tr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 10:04 PM
  #17
fatam05
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: , GA
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: aftershock 8e

The drift is from the tire ballooning up at high rpm and loosing their footprint on the road. I dont know what hubs are on these but if there is a set of lower profile road tires made it should level that out. Something like traxxas anacondas may work but i'm not totally sure. I have done it with and mt2 but have not got my hands on this truck yet, but come thursday I will have an answer for ya.
fatam05 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 06:04 AM
  #18
skilled
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cranberry Twp., PA
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: aftershock 8e

I'm not really not that impressed with the 8e. Read about it,didn't find a price,but if it is
stock with brushless motor and lipo batteries it has to be up in price.unless its some cheap
chinese thing. Does your lhs have parts for it? I'll wait for the traxxas 4x4 slash brushless!
skilled is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 04:07 PM
  #19
RCToysNh
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: northwood, NH
Posts: 354
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: aftershock 8e


Quote:
ORIGINAL: skilled

I'm not really not that impressed with the 8e. Read about it,didn't find a price,but if it is
stock with brushless motor and lipo batteries it has to be up in price.unless its some cheap
chinese thing. Does your lhs have parts for it? I'll wait for the traxxas 4x4 slash brushless!
Let me get this right - You do not own one and yet you write a short review on it ?

The price is $289.99. And yes some LHS have parts.

For the money they are hard to beat.

If you want a Traxxas we can sell you one of those too.
The VXL will be arriving early Dec.(est price 399.99) That is with 1 battery (Not LIPO).
Add 2 hard case LiPos at 75-120 each. Now you have a 600.00 truck.
RCToysNh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 08:32 AM
  #20
skilled
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cranberry Twp., PA
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: aftershock 8e

You're right I don't own one,but I have worked on them,tuned some,and found some parts
I have on hand from other companies that would work to fix some. So I have had experience
with these trucks.I have 2 hobbyshops in my area,one I work at and really don't deal with
red cat,and the other sells the trucks but no parts.Sure it's a decent cheap truck,but that is
all it is.Decent and cheap.
skilled is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 05:22 PM
  #21
streiter10
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: brick, NJ
Posts: 80
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: aftershock 8e

can the aftershock 8e handle 3s 4000mah lipo?
streiter10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 12:20 AM
  #22
chevyderek72
 
chevyderek72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,784
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: aftershock 8e

It uses 2 7.4v lipos. And im pretty sure the esc can only handle 4s.
chevyderek72 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 09:11 AM
  #23
killergsxr1
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: aftershock 8e

yes it can handle 3s lipos..ive been running mine at the track on just one of the 2s packs to make it more manageable..4s on the track is just to much power..i also ran it on a 3s and it was still pretty insane...the esc automaticly reads what cells you have in..it beeps 4 times for the 4 cells..and 2 times when you hookup just one batt..i made a harness so i can hook up just one battery..but when i feel the need for speed i put the 4s back in!!i will say it runs super cool on just 2s and 3s..but it does get kinda hot on 4s..hope this helps
killergsxr1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 11:50 PM
  #24
KeithjV
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: ....., NY
Posts: 2,149
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: aftershock 8e


Quote:
ORIGINAL: killergsxr1

yes it can handle 3s lipos..ive been running mine at the track on just one of the 2s packs to make it more manageable..4s on the track is just to much power..i also ran it on a 3s and it was still pretty insane...the esc automaticly reads what cells you have in..it beeps 4 times for the 4 cells..and 2 times when you hookup just one batt..i made a harness so i can hook up just one battery..but when i feel the need for speed i put the 4s back in!!i will say it runs super cool on just 2s and 3s..but it does get kinda hot on 4s..hope this helps
Any pictures of the harness you made?

KeithjV is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 11:24 PM
  #25
chevyderek72
 
chevyderek72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,784
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: aftershock 8e

Just to clarify, it will handle one 3s lipo. Not dual 3s lipos. So if you wanna run a single 3s your all good, but the esc can only handle a total of 4 cells.
chevyderek72 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:53 PM.